Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

NEWBIE Introduction!
NEWBIE Introduction!
I should state that I'm NEW to Apnea Board, but I am NOT new to sleep study, diagnosis and treatment.  I had my first sleep study in 2005 and yielded an apnea score too low to treat according to the pulmonologist I went to.  During a hospitalization in 2009 it was determined, via overnight oximetry, that 52% of the time my pulse oximetry was below 60, with occasional dips to below 50.  Say hello to Mr. Oxygen Concentrator to be used at night to treat nocturnal hypoxia.

2011 brought a new pulmonologist that was in LOVE with a local hospital's Sleep Center, and HIMSELF.  They presented me with a copy of the report that listed hypopnea as the main issue with my sleep.  The Love Doctor took away my oxygen concentrator and hooked me up with a Continuous Positive Airway Pressure, "CPAP" machine.  After 6 months of fitful sleep, and a Durable Medical Equipment "DME" that was not interested in whether or not my mask was comfortable or not, I canned the LOVE doctor AND the DME and bought my own CPAP and mask that I liked.  Sleep was better, but still fitful.  2013 was productive!  I worked with a new pulmonologist and finally got them to take arterial blood gasses and that netted me an arterial oxygen of 58%.  Hello supplemental oxygen, my old friend, it's good to have you again!