Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Napping with my CPAP
Napping with my CPAP
I did a quick but non-comprehensive scan of the forum and didn't see an obvious answer to my question, so if it's been asked and answered please don't ding me, just point me to the answer and move on or ignore my question.

I am fairly new to CPAP treatment, just over a month. My question is if I nap during the day and use my CPAP, do I need to do a water change at bedtime? I've been cleaning my tank and mask more or less faithfully every day(I may have missed a day where I just rinsed my tank and didn't clean my mask, I'm only human). I will go with the consensus if I decide to use my mask for napping. BTW, napping is not a daily occurrence, I had a long day yesterday and am feeling like an afternoon nap may be in order. I was in the hospital with pneumonia and heart issues (not a heart attack) and am trying very hard not to overdo things even though I'm feeling 100% better.

Thanks in advance for reading my post and providing a thoughtful answer.

Karen
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Napping with my CPAP
Karen, I wouldn't worry about cleaning everything after a nap when you know you are going to wear it again that night. Just make certain you add water before using it the second time. I clean my mask and tank every day (most of the time) but certainly wouldn't bother for a nap. This is my personal opinion and others may differ. I wish you well on your recovery.
Post Reply Post Reply
I've gotten to the point where I only clean the tank if there is severe buildup. I generally clean my mask once a week. I wouldn't bother with cleaning after every nap, but perhaps I'm lazier than most. I've not run into any issues yet.
Post Reply Post Reply