Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Natural Remedies for OSA?
RE: Natural Remedies for OSA?
(07-07-2012, 01:45 PM)Sleepster Wrote: High blood pressure (hypertension) is dramatically reversed by CPAP therapy. There's a lot of stress placed on your heart by OSA. Once you treat OSA you reduce most of that stress.

This morning SleepyHead informed me that last night was night 93 since I started CPAP therapy, so I'm still pretty new to this.

According to the collective wisdom of the internet treating my OSA is supposed to improve insulin sensitivity and reduce hypertension. I am happy to report that I have been able to reduce my insulin use by about 25%, although at the beginning it increased by about the same amount. Suddenly at about the end of the second month my insulin need dropped dramatically.

However, I'm still waiting for the hypertension benefits to show up. I still need the same dosages to keep the blood pressures in the normal range.
Post Reply Post Reply
(07-05-2012, 10:30 PM)Tommy C Wrote: So, where did we go wrong in our modern lifestyle and evolution? Are we doing or not doing things, detrimental to our design, that is causing our OSA problems?
Tom

While it is not true of all OSA patients, certainly a large portion of OSA patients can reduce (or sometimes eliminate) their OSA symptoms by simply losing weight.

Yeah, I know that this does not apply to all OSA patients. My father is close to his ideal body weight, and yet still has moderate OSA, for instance.

But, if we're seeking "natural remedies", certainly getting down to one's ideal body weight can't hurt - and many times does indeed reduce OSA symptoms.