Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Need help choosing a BiPAP machine
Need help choosing a BiPAP machine
My doctor is recommending I try a BiPAP machine rather than the standard CPAP machine I've been using for several months now (Resmed Airsense CPAP), and I'm just looking for guidance on choosing a BiPAP machine. The current ResMed Airsense CPAP machine I have has no data recording capability, so I'd definitely like to find a BiPAP machine with this capability.  I read that "All the ResMed S9/A10 or Philips REspironics PRS1/Dreamstation bilevel/BiPAP/VPAP/ASV/AVAPS machines provide efficacy data that can be displayed by Resmed's ResScan, Philip's Encore and #Sleepyhead." 

So, do ALL BiPAP machines have equivalent data recording capability, or are some better than others? (and are there any that aren't compatible with Sleepyhead software at this time?)

I've also heard that BiPAP machines can vary in how well they sense breathing patterns and adjust pressures. For example, during my BiPAP titration study, I felt that the machine wasn't detecting when I was inhaling well and would just keep it on the lower pressure setting - perhaps due to breathing too shallowly? In that case, I guess I'm also looking for advice on what BiPAP machines are most sensitive in people who tend to breathe more shallowly.  Thanks for any advice!
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Need help choosing a BiPAP machine
ResMed Aircurve 10 autov is probably the best. I have a dreamstation Auto Bipap which is also good.
Download SleepyHead
Organize your Sleepyhead Charts
Posting Charts
Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead
Mask Primer
Advisory Members serve as an "Advisory Committee" to help shape Apnea Board's rules & policies.