Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Need help lowering AHI
Need help lowering AHI
I've been using a CPAP for just over 2 months and am having a hard time adjusting to it and getting an acceptable AHI. I've been using the machine regularly, and am sleeping mostly a bit better than before, but the sleep improvement is not as much as I think it should be.

I'm currently using a Philips Respironics DreamStation with a DreamWear nasal mask and a chin strap. I also have a Amara View mask but have had problems getting it to comfortably seal (I have a beard). I'm mostly sleeping on my side which seems to help a bit with the AHI.

I currently have my settings from 9 - 12 cmH2O. I have a 20 minute ramp starting at 7 but I'm not using that any more. I turned off the pressure relief because I found it hard to fall asleep with that.

The doctor started me at 4 - 20 but I couldn't breathe at 4 so I raised that to 6 and then 8. At the last doctor appointment he changed settings to 7 - 17. That didn't do much so I've raised the bottom number in steps to 9 in hopes of improving AHI and sleep quality. I lowered the 20 to 12 because the machine would keep waking me up when it ramped to a high of 16-17 and I couldn't fall back asleep. 9 - 12 helped me sleep (most often) through the night with only one bathroom break, but I sometimes have trouble getting back to sleep. I'm currently working to raise the 12 in small increments as I get accustomed to it.

I've been tracking SleepyHead data and taking notes each morning on sleep quality. I'm attaching some recent SleepyHead graphs. I'm hoping someone can provide some suggestions for improving AHI and sleep quality.

Thanks!

[attachment=4505]
[attachment=4506]
[attachment=4507]
[attachment=4508]
[attachment=4509]
Post Reply Post Reply