Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Need help repairing Cpap machine
Need help repairing Cpap machine
Alright, ignoring the obvious new member thing on my part I need y'alls help please. I've been sleeping with a Cpap machine now for just over 5 years, no issues and I sleep like a dead man with my machine. My machine is a Phillips Respironics 450p with the 2.xx designation on the underside label, I use a 6' long 22mm hose with a ResMed Mirage FX mask that has the quick disconnect.

About two and a half weeks ago I woke up one morning and accidentally pulled my machine off the night stand next to my bed. Now i've done this by accident a few times before and the machine has always seemed rather resilient, that is until now. When I picked it back up and put it on the night stand the motor was making a god awful noise, all of a sudden it had this odd almost burning plastic smell, the air pressure had dropped down like I had pressed the ramp button, and when I would exhale the counter pressure would make the motor stop and the machine would seem to reboot. In a rush I went online and found a site that sold various used and refurbished medical supplies. I found a seller that was selling what they claimed to be refurbished 450p machines for a really good price IMO. Finding this and realizing it would be cheaper and a lot quicker than sending my existing machine off for repairs I bought one. That new/refurbished machine arrived 4 days after I ordered it and is now my go to, but it's obviously older than my broken machine, it doesn't have all the setting options, and it has this smell when I use it that reminds me of my grandmas house(not good).