Post Reply 
Need help setting ResMes S7 Elite for the first time.
Author Message
xblackdemonx Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: unsure
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: None
Humidifier: None
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #1
Need help setting ResMes S7 Elite for the first time.
Hi,
I bought this ResMes S7 on kijiji because it is too expensive here in Quebec even with insurance...
Anyways the person that had it before had his pressure settings on 10 and I think it might be too high for me. When I went to do the trst at the clinic they told me I do minor sleep apnea, enough that I don't need a machine if I don't want one but he could prescribe me one if I wanted one. Long story short I didn't take it but I gained 30 lbs since then amd now I think I do more sleep apnea than before as I'm always tired even if I sleep 8-9 hours.
I tried the machine I bought with pressure at 10 and everytime I am about tp fall asleep I wake up when the machine pushes the air in my lungs. I tried 3 nights in a row and I cannot fall asleep because I wake up every time the air enters my lungs.
Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks
11-23-2014 02:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
PaulaO2 Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 8,065
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: S9 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 14-20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome, Hypermobility Type; chronic sarcasm

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: western NC, USA

Post: #2
RE: Need help setting ResMes S7 Elite for the first time.
Wow. An S7. That's an old beast!

First, read this. All of it.
http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual

Section Three of that will tell you how to get the Clinician Manual which will, in turn, tell you how to get inside the "special menu" to access the pressure settings.

Then, read this.
http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...re-on-cpap

It is how to adjust your CPAP pressure based on YOU and your needs. The main thing to remember is to go slow. Real slow. It may be tempting to speed the process up but you aren't doing yourself any good by doing that. You need data (even if that is just "how you feel" data) and one night is not enough. Too much goes into a night's sleep. The second thing to do is to start a sleep journal. Before you go to bed, write down what kind of day you had. Good, bad, stress level, medications, new foods, fun day, work day. Did you make any changes? Log it all down. In the morning, write down how you feel. Dreams, no dreams, rested, zombie, woke up a lot, didn't, whatever. Log it all down. You want this all down so that you can track the changes. So you can look back and see that Friday night binges with the co-workers mean you wake up feeling like crap BUT you feel not-as-crappy since you raised the pressure from 6 to 6.5. See?

Two final suggestions.
- Contact the doc and get a copy of your sleep data or at least what pressure they suggested you start with. That would really, really help.
- Consider upgrading that machine. It is way old and, if I remember correctly, it uses a smart card that requires a special card and reader. If you are going to be doing this on your own, then you need a data-capable autoPAP. Check out the list here: http://www.apneaboard.com/wiki/index.php...ne_Choices Then go to our Supplier's List (link at top of every page) and check out Supplier #2. They sell used and open box machines at good prices.

PaulaO2
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Breathe deeply and count to zen.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
11-23-2014 10:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,446
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #3
RE: Need help setting ResMes S7 Elite for the first time.
Hi xblackdemonx,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Hopefully at some point, you can get a newer machine. Technology has changed quite a bit since the machine you have now.
Hang in there for more responses to your post and much success to you as you start your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
11-23-2014 11:35 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
big_dave Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 411
Joined: Apr 2012

Machine: PR System One DS560
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: F&P Pilairo Q or ResMed Mirage Activa
Humidifier: PR System One
CPAP Pressure: 14 - 20
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Former ResMed S8 Autoset II user

Sex: Male
Location: Eugene, Oregon

Post: #4
RE: Need help setting ResMes S7 Elite for the first time.
To get into the clinical menu to set the pressure, hold down the down arrow and right arrow buttons for 3 seconds. The S7 doesn't have very many options and is easy to set up.

I believe the S7 Elite has some limited efficacy data, but downloading it is more trouble than it's worth. You need a null modem cable and ResScan version 4.3 or older. (The current version is 5.1). I have downloaded the data from my S7 Autoset Respond, but it unfortunately is a "brick" with only compliance data.

I was in a hurry to get a machine, and the S7 was what was available on Craigslist at the time. I bought my S8 (cheap) about a month later.
11-23-2014 11:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
xblackdemonx Offline

New Members

Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: unsure
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: None
Humidifier: None
CPAP Pressure: unsure
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #5
RE: Need help setting ResMes S7 Elite for the first time.
Yes I know the S7 is an old machine but for now it's all I can get. It is very complicated to get a prescription only because I did my apnea test more than 2 years ago. Also because they sell the machines here for a loooot of money here. About 3500$ for a Respironics System One REMstar Plus CPAP and Humidifier. Even with insurance you need to pay at least 400$ out of your pockets. I will try for now to lower the pressure to about 6 and go from there and see what happens.

Thank you everyone!
11-24-2014 07:37 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Is it time to replace cushion on the mask worthog 3 217 11-26-2016 10:50 PM
Last Post: GP49
  ASV/ Central apena - Time for a second opinion? Feisty Folder 6 333 11-21-2016 04:14 AM
Last Post: DeepBreathing
  When is it time to get another sleep study done. duece12345 7 355 11-19-2016 11:51 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  [Equipment] what setting for mask airsense 10 abrun7 1 176 11-17-2016 06:57 PM
Last Post: OpalRose
  First time Bipap User, years of suffering SleepyMersim 18 651 11-16-2016 11:46 PM
Last Post: Galactus
  ResMed Airsense 10 Setting Date Problem Reuven Gruber 6 298 11-16-2016 04:13 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Need help with mask setting please trader37 3 285 11-03-2016 02:34 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)