Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Advantages of ASV
Advantages of ASV
I have been using a ResMed ASV for about 2 months. Since i have central apneas, obstructive apneas, complex apneas, and Cheyne-Stokes respiration, it has worked extremely well. Here are a couple of screenshots from OSCAR from last night. I use a video camera in infrared mode to watch my sleep positions and correlate with OSCAR. All of the clusters of apneas, likely obstructive, and hypopneas occur when I'm sleeping on my back, something I'm trying to eliminate. Without back sleeping my AHI would be close to or below 2. SpO2 is very high and consistent. I plan to get a device that straps around your abdomen and causes a slight discomfort when you lay on your back. The settings I'm currently using with my ASV, which have almost totally eliminated aerophasia, are EPAP: 5.8-10, and Pressure Support: 3-15. These are slightly higher than my doctor prescribed, but they work well until I can stop sleeping on my back.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Advantages of ASV
Thanks for sharing this. I have a few observations and questions. My Dr. suggested ASV since I feel terrible, but CA are non existent in sleep study, only OSCAR shows some (still have low AHI under 2 mostly).