Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Need help with air swallowing so I can meet compliance requirements
Need help with air swallowing so I can meet compliance requirements
Hello everyone, 

I'm new here but I have been on and off APAP for a couple years and it's been quite a struggle. My options for Drs in the area are not the best, and while I will do my best to continue to work with them, I'm at the point where I really want to do anything I can myself to improve my treatment.

I just took about 1.5 years off of compliance and treatment due to being unable to fix the air swallowing issue that started toward the end. Before that I had been using my machine every night for around 9 months. Average AHI was 3.37 at the time and I didn't have much luck lowering it. I forgot the whole reason that I stopped using my machine until I tried again about two months ago. I was using an old mask but I immediately remembered upon waking. Lots of gas and painful tightness in abdomen and chest.

Long story short, the aerophagia + difficulties getting new supplies, a new prescription and any help at all from my sleep doctor has really made this attempt at treatment difficult. 

My Dr won't give me a Rx until I am compliant, but that is difficult without new supplies. They told me to buy new supplies on Supplier #1 DME Link Removed or Amazon myself and I told them I tried but that it required a prescription and I didn't know what to get exactly. They told me people do it all the time and didn't help beyond that. I have insurance but they obviously won't do anything without a prescription.