Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Need help with flow limits/understanding waveforms
Need help with flow limits/understanding waveforms
Hello,

I've been using APAP at 10cm with an EPR of 3 for two months now and the clear airways I've been having don't seem to be subsiding. Also I can't increase the minimum pressure anymore because I already suffer from aerophagia likely due to a weak esophageal sphincter (LPR symptoms as well). Would you recommend I try a BIPAP machine so I can crank up the pressure without having aerophagia? Also, most of my waveforms look like the ones in attachment (from a good night) 1. Are these normal? Also sometimes there are obstructive events that are surrounded by similar events of a shorter duration like in attachment 2. Also, the clear airways occur right now occur without flow limitation being present in the nearby time period and are always preceded by a small leak of 1-3 (I don't know the units) like in attachment 3. Other larger leaks of around 10 units? don't seem to cause clear airways but cause a sharp breath to occur. I use a full face mask with a soft cervical collar. Could someone please help me understand what is going on and how I could possibly fix it, because I'm very uninformed and haven't gotten any benefits from APAP despite being on it for ~2 months. I don't know what aspect of this is causing my tiredness. Thanks for your time and help and sorry for the trouble.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Need help with flow limits/understanding waveforms
Please post screenshots of the full night, not zoomed in, so we can see an overview of your sleep and interpret the zoomed screenshots in the context of the overall night.
Useful links
Download OSCAR (current version is 1.5.1)