Post Reply 
New Airsense 10 autoset
Author Message
Sleeprider Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,345
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed Aircurve 10 Vauto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Resmed Climateline
CPAP Pressure: Auto Bilevel 18/9, PS 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Where they make Respironics

Post: #11
RE: New Airsense 10 autoset
I'll second Vaughn's recommendation to tell your doctor you have been on BiPAP and what your long-term settings have been. The auto simply can't produce the same feel, and if that is important to your comfort and continuing treatment, do this sooner than later. I use a BiPAP auto and only use a pressure support of 4.5 to 7.0. It mostly stays at the lower end of that range. It's a lot different from an auto CPAP.

______________________________________________
Organize your SleepyHead Data
Post your SleepyHead Data from Imgur
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
04-03-2015 09:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #12
RE: New Airsense 10 autoset
(04-03-2015 08:27 PM)star searcher Wrote:  I downloaded, extracted, and attempted to start sleepyhead but it says xyz.dll is missing. The sleepyhead site says to click on the link under "missing dll files". Download visual C.

I did so and now find myself with a choice of one two or all three files:
First checkbox selects all three files.

Or each individual file can be selected

vcredist_arm.exe 1.4mb

vcredist_x64.exe 6.9mb

vcredist_x86.exe 6.2mb

My system is win7 64bit. Do I want all three of these or only x64 and arm?

Thanks

You need the one with X64 in it.

(04-03-2015 07:34 PM)star searcher Wrote:  If I understand you correctly, the data my doctor would need to verify the effectiveness of the therapy is actually on the SD card only?

The wireless data will give the doctor a lot of info. If you feel OK, and the wireless data looks good, you're in good shape. If there are some problems, he can make some pretty good adjustments based on the wireless data. He can probably fix most of the problems with the wireless data . If he can't figure it out with the wireless data, the SD card gives a lot more data. Most doctors don't even bother to really look at the level of detail the wireless data provides.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
04-03-2015 09:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
star searcher Offline

Members

Posts: 18
Joined: Feb 2013

Machine: Airsense Aircurve 10 VAuto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Adams circuit w/ custom headgear
Humidifier: Airsense
CPAP Pressure: 8 - 20
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #13
RE: New Airsense 10 autoset
(04-03-2015 09:21 PM)vsheline Wrote:  I recommend you really should ask your doctor to change your prescription to a PRS1 BiPAP Auto or a ResMed AirCurve 10 Auto,
Take care,
--- Vaughn
Yes I will ask him about it as your explanation makes good sense.

I wish I would have paid more attention to this when my doctor wrote up the prescription but he just waved his arms around said the machine does everything automatically and don't worry about it.

I had a real uneasy feeling after my discussion with the DME person and being issued the airsense autoset. The DME expressed surprise at me not being prescribed a bilevel, and after learning who my doctor was made some other comments that were not confidence inspiring.

Anyway, I will see if I can get this airsense running and at least try it out before contacting the doctor. Now is the time to get this sorted out if I do need to change machines.

Thanks
04-03-2015 10:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
vsheline Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,908
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #14
RE: New Airsense 10 autoset
(04-03-2015 10:00 PM)star searcher Wrote:  Anyway, I will see if I can get this airsense running and at least try it out before contacting the doctor.

I suggest not using the AirSense 10 AutoSet any longer.

Since it should be returned, perhaps the fewer hours you put on it, the better.

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 04-04-2015 12:10 AM by vsheline.)
04-04-2015 12:10 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
vsheline Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,908
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #15
RE: New Airsense 10 autoset
(04-03-2015 05:23 PM)star searcher Wrote:  The machine will turn on but the pressure just sits there and stays at 4.

Hi star searcher,

The DME mistakenly (or misguidedly) set the Ramp time to Auto. When Ramp time is set to Auto the pressure stays at its start pressure (4 in your case, contrary to what the doctor prescribed) until your breathing pattern has the appearance of someone who has fallen asleep, and then the pressure starts ramping up. (If the machine never detects you have fallen asleep, after a while the machine in Auto Ramp mode will give up and will start ramping the pressure anyway, so that normal therapy pressure is reached within 30 minutes.)

If you want to use a Ramp, set the ramp Start Pressure much closer to the therapy pressure you are accustomed to, like 8 or 9 or 10.

But, as I posted earlier, it may be best to return the AutoSet without putting any more hours on it.

But be sure to let the DME know that he messed up in setting the ramp Start Pressure unbearably low.

Take care,
--- Vaughn

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 04-04-2015 12:27 AM by vsheline.)
04-04-2015 12:20 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
star searcher Offline

Members

Posts: 18
Joined: Feb 2013

Machine: Airsense Aircurve 10 VAuto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Adams circuit w/ custom headgear
Humidifier: Airsense
CPAP Pressure: 8 - 20
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #16
RE: New Airsense 10 autoset
(04-04-2015 12:20 AM)vsheline Wrote:  If you want to use a Ramp, set the ramp Start Pressure much closer to the therapy pressure you are accustomed to, like 8 or 9 or 10.

But, as I posted earlier, it may be best to return the AutoSet without putting any more hours on it.

But be sure to let the DME know that he messed up in setting the ramp Start Pressure unbearably low.
Take care,
--- Vaughn
I had some time to play with it some more this afternoon and turned the ramp off. That just made it sit there at 8 while I struggled to inhale.

I'm not entirely sure if the prescription is supposed to include the ramp setting or not. I should have obtained a printed copy of the prescription on the day he wrote it but I did not. I don't think a hard copy was even printed as I think they emailed it over to the DME.

I'll make an appointment with the doctor tomorrow and see if I can get this straightened out.
04-05-2015 05:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleeprider Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,345
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: Resmed Aircurve 10 Vauto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Airfit P10
Humidifier: Resmed Climateline
CPAP Pressure: Auto Bilevel 18/9, PS 3
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Where they make Respironics

Post: #17
RE: New Airsense 10 autoset
If you feel you're struggling for air at 8 cm, maybe try the next size larger nasal pillows?

______________________________________________
Organize your SleepyHead Data
Post your SleepyHead Data from Imgur
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
04-05-2015 08:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
vsheline Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,908
Joined: Jul 2012

Machine: S9 VPAP Adapt (USA Model# 36007, not better 36037 or 36067)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F10 or SimPlus w/ 2Liners. MirageQuatro & Gecko gel pad
Humidifier: H5i
CPAP Pressure: 15 EPAP, PS 5-10
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: Marfan Syndrome, chronic bradycardia, occasional Cheyne-Stokes Respiration

Sex: Male
Location: California, USA

Post: #18
RE: New Airsense 10 autoset
(04-05-2015 05:09 PM)star searcher Wrote:  I had some time to play with it some more this afternoon and turned the ramp off. That just made it sit there at 8 while I struggled to inhale.

I'm not entirely sure if the prescription is supposed to include the ramp setting or not. I should have obtained a printed copy of the prescription on the day he wrote it but I did not. I don't think a hard copy was even printed as I think they emailed it over to the DME.

I'll make an appointment with the doctor tomorrow and see if I can get this straightened out.

Ramp settings are usually left to the patient to adjust for comfort.

I suggest you request the doctor to prescribe either the Philips Respironics System One BiPAP Auto (get the "Heated Tube" model) or the ResMed AirCurve 10 Auto.

In my view, the PRS1 BiPAP Auto would be preferred, since it can be given a range for Pressure Support (the pressure difference between EPAP and IPAP) and very slowly (every few minutes) will vary PS slightly to see if PS needs to be raised in order to avoid Flow Limitation, or can be lowered. This helps adjust PS to no more than how much is needed for comfortable and effective therapy. This is in addition to the normal "Auto" functionality of adjusting EPAP and IPAP in order to avoid obstructive events.

The AirCurve 10 Auto also adjusts the EPAP and IPAP pressures automatically in order to avoid obstructve events, but Pressure Support remains fixed (manually adjusted).

Good luck.

Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment. The Advisory Member group provides advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff on matters concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies - not on matters concerning treatment for Sleep Apnea. I think it is now too late to change the name of the group but I think Voting Member group would perhaps have been a more descriptive name for the group.
(This post was last modified: 04-07-2015 02:29 AM by vsheline.)
04-05-2015 09:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #19
RE: New Airsense 10 autoset
(04-05-2015 05:09 PM)star searcher Wrote:  I had some time to play with it some more this afternoon and turned the ramp off. That just made it sit there at 8 while I struggled to inhale.

I'm not entirely sure if the prescription is supposed to include the ramp setting or not. I should have obtained a printed copy of the prescription on the day he wrote it but I did not. I don't think a hard copy was even printed as I think they emailed it over to the DME.

I'll make an appointment with the doctor tomorrow and see if I can get this straightened out.

Struggling to inhale or struggling to exhale? Ramp lowers the pressure, not raises it.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
04-05-2015 11:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
star searcher Offline

Members

Posts: 18
Joined: Feb 2013

Machine: Airsense Aircurve 10 VAuto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Adams circuit w/ custom headgear
Humidifier: Airsense
CPAP Pressure: 8 - 20
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #20
RE: New Airsense 10 autoset
(04-05-2015 11:56 PM)archangle Wrote:  Struggling to inhale or struggling to exhale? Ramp lowers the pressure, not raises it.
Inhale. With the ramp on, the machine idles at 4, ramp off it's at 8 which is the low end of the prescribed range.
04-06-2015 01:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question ResMed AirSense 10 Badjo17 26 2,432 12-04-2016 09:30 AM
Last Post: Arnie51
  Is this sound normal? - Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset Ronberta 8 1,243 11-29-2016 07:59 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  [Pressure] new airsense 10 new at this abrun7 7 503 11-19-2016 02:12 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  Been about a week with the AirSense 10 for Her Beej 4 389 11-11-2016 09:30 PM
Last Post: Beej
  1st night on new Airsense 10 for her Beej 7 481 11-02-2016 06:08 PM
Last Post: Beej
  Resmed Airsense 10 CPAP data versus Resmed Airsense 10 Autoset data David P. 4 536 10-29-2016 08:42 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Brand new Resmed AirSense 10 Autoset - Warreny Repair DerfNL 7 637 10-08-2016 07:36 PM
Last Post: lab rat

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)