Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

New CPAP user needs help with settings
New CPAP user needs help with settings
Hi,

I've been using my DreamStation APAP for the last 2 months or so. My AHI has been improving in general, with my 30 day avg of 4.82, with some spikes here and there (as in the screenshot from last night, AHI of 6.04). 

I wanted to ask if you could look at the attached and let me know if I should make any adjustments. Obviously, I'd like to be as close to zero as possible! 
I am happy to share more info, if needed.

Many thanks for your guidance! 

++Randall

[attachment=9662]
[attachment=9663]
[attachment=9664]
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: New CPAP user needs help with settings
I'd start by bumping your minimum pressure up to 8cm you may end up going to 9cm. Take it slowly though.
Download SleepyHead
Organize your Sleepyhead Charts
Posting Charts
Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead
Mask Primer
Advisory Members serve as an "Advisory Committee" to help shape Apnea Board's rules & policies.

Membership in the Advisory Members group does not imply medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.

Post Reply Post Reply
Thanks - how long should I wait to evaluate it after adjusting upward? And I normally ramp from 4.0 to 7.0 over a 45 minute period. Should I adjust this as well?

Thanks
Post Reply Post Reply
I don't usually use ramp but you might as well adjust up to 4. to 8.0 if that's what you like. I'd try a new setting for at least 3 days or so to get in idea what the average is.
Download SleepyHead
Organize your Sleepyhead Charts
Posting Charts
Beginner's Guide to SleepyHead
Mask Primer
Advisory Members serve as an "Advisory Committee" to help shape Apnea Board's rules & policies.