Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

New -Maybe too soon to ask for another study?
New -Maybe too soon to ask for another study?
I am brand new to this sleep apnea world.  I'm 71, mostly healthy (on mild BP and prostate meds only) and physically active.  I underwent the sleep study because of my severe snoring.  My wife has been forced to wear noise canceling earbuds for the last couple of years.  No other sleep problems and I always felt rested and refreshed.  Normally slept 8-9 hours.  I am also a mouth breathing side sleeper..

I underwent the first study in December.  I was sure I didn't have sleep apnea, just a snoring problem.  I was wrong.  Because I was so sure, I hadn't done my research and went into the process completely uninformed.  I did ask the doctor if I might try weight loss before getting a machine and he said he didn't think I need to loss that much weight 

Here is the summary of the test -
RESPIRATORY SUMMARY: Diagnostic: Apneas: Obstructive apneas 46, mixed apneas 1, central apneas 0. Hypopneas: Obstructive hypopneas 69. Apnea-hypopnea index 30.2. Oxygen saturation low 87%.  

And the second study -