Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

New Member Intro
New Member Intro
Hi all! Just like my username says, I am Carleen. Tonight was the first of four nights of my CPAP Titration Study which, I suppose, will ultimately determine the settings that go on the CPAP I will receive soon. Now that I've outed myself as a total newbie to this whole process, I hope to learn lots from the pros.

Because I never like to do things the easy way, in addition to OSA, I have what is classified as a rare brain disorder called Arnold Chiari Malformation I. In a nutshell, if someone asks me whether I've lost my mind/brain, I can honestly say yes -- well, at least part of it. The tonsils of my brain have been vacationing south of my skull for quite some time and the bad thing is that they can't come home. Once the brain tears out of the three layers of membrane that cover it and ooze down into the spinal canal as mine has, the leaked portion can never be put back where it came from. Considering that the spinal canal is a fairly narrow space designed to hold only that oh, so important shoestring that we call a spinal cord, having a chunk of brain competing for space there causes all kinds of problems, the worst of which are headaches (I never knew how many different kinds of headaches existed until I started to get them all, LOL!) and seizures. Surgery has safely lifted my leaked brain slightly up and away from the spinal cord so that it doesn't get squished and kill me, and the removal of a piece of skull and three neck bones should ensure that the peace treaty between brain and spine lasts for a while.