Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

New and Confused
New and Confused
Hello all, I'm Chris, I am new to everything that is apnea. Well, not everything since I've had sleep apnea for most of my life but just never did anything about it. So my reasoning for being here is that I was gifted a used Resmed S9, basic model not auto, machine with H5i humidifier from a family friend...but also wanted to say hello and kind of introduce myself. I'm still learning the ins and outs of all of this but it all seems so overwhelming that I was hoping to relieve some of my stress before my new mask, hose and filters get in next week. 

So the first thing I did was reset the device to factory settings and formatted the included SD card so that it should be default out of the box condition. I downloaded the Sleepyhead software. Will this work for me to figure out what settings I need without doing a sleep study? If not is there anything I can do that doesn't require a sleep study? I apologize in advance if I ask questions that are very basic or simple, I just haven't a clue about any of this and have never looked up CPAP machines before let alone APAP or VPAP as I didn't even know those two existed. Having said that is there any basic information that I need to know starting out? 

I've also cleaned both machines exterior and am now soaking the inner container from the humidifier in a water vinegar wash. Still though is there a way to clean the machine so to get rid of the previous owner's smell? They only used it a month but that's still a month of their odor I'll be breathing in.

Thanks in advance for any advice.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: New and Confused
G'day Sky Puncher. Welcome to Apnea Board.