Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

New and need a new pillow?
New and need a new pillow?
Hello all,  I'm new to CPAP therapy and new to this board.  

I've had my machine for a few weeks and I tried the nasal pillow at first.  It caused sores just inside my nostrils, so I switched to a nasal mask (Fisher & Paykel Eson) which I'm getting used to.  I'll have some nights where I sleep well with the mask & low pressure (5-8).  Other nights (like last night), I wake up to feeling choked by the high pressure (15) and my mouth falling open, waking me up.  After reading a few posts on here, it seems the tri-core cervical pillow that I use from my chiropractor may be part of the issue.  It seems to be the exact opposite of a CPAP pillow.  I'm considering purchasing a CPAP pillow, or maybe just a nice normal pillow and a soft cervical collar from my local drug store.  I noticed before CPAP therapy, I'd wake myself up snoring with my chin in my chest, that's why I'm thinking the collar with a normal pillow may be an inexpensive option.

Also, my insurance doesn't cover my equipment so I didn't purchase the Smartlink Module & Data Card that allows me to track data, so I'm unable to use the sleepyhead program unfortunately.  It looks like I'd have to buy that piece in order to insert an SD card to collect data, correct?

Any suggestions?  I know I'm really new still and it's going to take a bit to get used to.  Thanks for your help!

Stephanie
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: New and need a new pillow?
Here's some reviews of various pillows:
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...-My-Pillow
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...-my-pillow
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...ed-pillows
http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Thread-...-old-forum