Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

New guy with old problems sleeping
New guy with old problems sleeping
For the longest time I  have had problems sleeping more than 6 hours every night. I'm tired during the day. And  unless I'm engaged at work doing something. I get really sleepy. I drive truck for a living. I just got screened for a driving job and was told I need a sleep study because of my neck size and BMI. I'm a bit afraid. But the more I look into this, the more I'm thinking if I do have sleep apnea....maybe this machine will help me get the rest I need. I take ambien from time to time but I don't like it. It leaves me with a headache in the morning and if I take one pill, I will wake up at exactly 5 hours from the time I take it and go to bed. So I'm better off not taking it. The wife says I do snore.  After years of being a Pepsi Delivery man. I would wake up at 3 am to be at work at 4 in order to be at my first grocery store at 5 am sharp. And after picking up my kids I would take a nap when I got home for about 2 hours and this is how my life was for the better part of 16 years. I slept in two shifts. 6 hours at night and 2 hours in the afternoon. Its rare I get a good nights sleep. Do I have anything to fear using this CPAP machine? I know I have to have one with a storage card so that my future employer sees that I am using it one I have been diagnosed . I have yet to have my sleep test. So I'm curious how that will play out.  I have 30 years driving trucks with no accidents and no tickets on my MVR. So if I do have sleep apnea.....maybe its not too bad? I don't know. Can some of you tell me how having CPAP has impacted your life? Any truck drivers here in the same boat? I still have about 10 more years before hanging it up for good. I know the DOT me