Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

New to the forums
New to the forums
Hello, fellow CPAPiers!

I'm new to both the apneaboard forum and CPAP therapy.

Background: My GF works for a sleep doc and she complained of my snoring for quite a while. I went to my dentist and he fitted me with an oral appliance. It worked well for a while, but ultimately, my snoring continued. GF did a sleep study and found that I was having over 20 events per hour, with each event lasting up to, or longer than, 1 minute.

Fast forward to January of this year. Having already done the sleep study, I purchased a new ResMed 9 Autoset with humidifier, along with a ResMed Quattro Air full face mask, size small. My total AHI numbers went from 8-9 the first week, down to 3.3 or so after that.

I recently went to Vegas for a few days with my buddies and shared a room with another CPAP user. He uses the same mask but medium size. I tried his on and found that it fit better than my small mask. (a bit more comfortable) I decided to purchase a medium mask and give it a shot. My AHI numbers have not been as low as with the other mask, and on occasion, quite a bit higher.

I realize the standard answer will be, "hey, just go with the old mask," but the other has a better fit. Question: Should I give it more time, or go back to the other mask. (It's only been a couple of weeks)

Thank you in advance for your responses.

Paul
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: New to the forums
Hi pdbabb66,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
You may need to try several different masks and even different types of masks 'till you find what works for you.
Hang in there for more answers to your questions and much success to you as you start your CPAP journey.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply