Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

New user question
New user question
I am very new to using my CPAP machine and just had a question about some general functionality. My understanding is that when you stop breathing during the night the machine senses that and prompts you to take breath. I was fooling around with my new machine last night and I would Breathe In and hold my breath just to see what would happen. Nothing happened. Finally after maybe 45 seconds or a minute I exhaled and breathed in again and held my breath and still no prompting from the CPAP. And I missing something? I got about 30 seconds of instruction from the home medical supply place so that's why I Googled some information and came across this website
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: New user question
This depends on the type of machine and the settings. What is your exact machine model? Do you know what your pressure or range of pressures is? Is it in APAP or CPAP mode?

Dave
Post Reply Post Reply
Welcome to the forum.

Your profile shows CPAP mode so you will get a constant pressure all night.  This pressure needs to be set to a value that will prevent obstructive events.
APAP mode your machine will increase pressure AFTER obstructive events and will ignore CA events.

Advanced machines (BiLevel/BiPap) will perform differently depending on model and mode set.

Read the articles in my sig for good general information.

Fred
Post Reply Post Reply
Looks like your on a cpap at 15 cmH2O. cpap stands for "continuous positive airway pressure." The pressure you are breathing against is constant and does not change between inhalation or exhalation. The machine does not kick in and deliver a breath. It is not a ventilator.