Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Newbie Getting Sleepier!
Newbie Getting Sleepier!
I am new to this and admittedly, worried that my CPAP will be a $600 (copayment) wasted on a new door stop! I have used it consistently since my pickup last Friday 10/7/14, so I only have 7 days of My Air data. Initially my AHI dropped to 2 per hour, but has started climbing up to 4.9. I understand these are still low numbers, and this is so very new. I am concerned because I have noticed an increase in daytime sleepiness. I was NOT expecting a decrease so early, but a trend reversal is a bit alarming. It is important to note that I wake up feeling good and rested. I just "space out" around mid-morning, or lunch time. I checked my blood sugars so it's not that or my BP (have a BP arm cuff style monitor).

I raised these concerns via a call to the sleep clinic today. I spoke with an unfamiliar clinician who said it was too early and it takes 30 days to see an effect. When I stressed, I understood improvement takes time, but shouldn't deterioration also take time? She said I should call again if needed. I am significantly more sleepy, took a nap instead of walking at lunch yesterday, etc...

My questions for this community:

Any experience with trend reversals?
How long is long enough to adapt?
Any tips on what I should expect during my transition?

I noticed last night that it felt warm with the face mask and chin strap, so k turned the ceiling fan on. I am not giving up yet, I just don't know when to push, or when I am just being an over reactive nervous Nellie!
Thanks,
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Newbie Getting Sleepier!
It would help to have something more to work from. What pressure(s) are you using? What mode (Autoset, autoset for her, CPAP)? What is the breakdown of your AHI?