Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Newbie here and my story
Smile 
Newbie here and my story
Hello all,

New to the forums and have been lurking and reading for a little bit.

Some background on me: I was diagnosed with OSA back in July 2010 after a sleep study. Received what I think was the ResMed S9 CPAP and started off fine using it and felt comfortable (sleeping much better and even lost a good amount of weight) but after 6 months, I started to feel uncomfortable with the air blowing while suffering from allergies at the time. Grew frustrated and gave up on the machine. I knew in my mind that I should have followed up with my doctor and figured out a solution but going through a painful and difficult divorce at the time, I had my mind on other things.

Forward to 2016, sleep of course had gotten worst over the years; would fall asleep almost anywhere and anytime and now I ask myself how I was able to function at work!! If I wasn't working, I wanted to stay at home and just try to sleep. Quality of life was poor.

At the end of April, I became really sick; fever that started at 101F and kept getting higher so my primary sent me to the ER and was admitted with adenovirus/severe pneumonia. I ended up staying in the hospital for 2 weeks.

Told the doctors that I was diagnosed back in 2010 with OSA but didn't tolerate the CPAP and in the ER, they saw my pulse ox drop to 86% when I was asleep so they put me on a BiPAP during my hospital stay and I was worried that I would hate it.