Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Newbie - longtime ResMed S8 user - feeling awfully tired
Newbie - longtime ResMed S8 user - feeling awfully tired
I've been using ResMed S8 Elite II on APAP mode for 4 years now. I got wonderful relief from symptoms for a long time, but gradually my symptoms have been re-emerging. This has been so gradual over the past 6 months that I didn't realize until yesterday that it was apnea symptoms. (clear now that it is: never feeling rested in the am, daytime sleepiness, excessive nighttime sweating, depression, irritability, forgetfulness, reflux, etc. I should point out that I have gained weight which may be a factor.

I am new to the machine stats, but did some research this morning and figured out how to access some data, which I report below.

Press: 10.4 day & week; 10.6 mo; 10.2 6 mo; 10.0 yr
Leak: 0.10 L/s day; 0.036 wk; 0.032 mo; 0.22 6 mo; 0.26 yr
AHI: 12.6 day;16.3 wk; 16.1 mo; 16.7 6 mo; 17.3 yr
AI: 0.7 day; 1.7 wk; 1.7 mo; 2.2 6 mo; 2.9 yr
HI: 11.9 day; 13.6 wk; 14.0 mo; 14.4 6 mo14.3 yr

Do these data suggest that I am getting the full benefit of my machine? BTW I will be calling my doctor this morning.

Input is most welcome.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Newbie - longtime ResMed S8 user - feeling awfully tired
(05-08-2013, 06:02 AM)SleepyMsPat Wrote: I've been using ResMed S8 Elite II on APAP mode for 4 years now.
S8 Elite is not APAP .... operate at one fixed pressure all night long (apart from Ramp time)
AHI is on the high side and mostly hypopneas
Pressure might need adjustment but S8 unlike S9 don,t detect central sleep apnea
Also don,t differentiates between obstructive and central sleep apnea
The doctor might suggest a new sleep study

Welcome to the forum and good luck with the doc appointment
Post Reply Post Reply