Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Newbie - seeking roadmap for Dx and Tx
Newbie - seeking roadmap for Dx and Tx
Hi Folks,

Newbie here.
  • Male, age 42.
  • Physically fit, low body fat.
  • Blood pressure on the low side.
  • Have deviated septum, but not severe.
  • Have IBS, symptoms of which interfere with sleep (mainly pain/discomfort keeps me from falling asleep).
  • Wake at least once per night to pee, then remain awake for 30-60 minutes. Sometimes wake multiple times.
  • When I wake after 6, 7, or 8 hrs in bed, I feel the heavy weight of fatigue and just want to sleep more, but have trouble returning to sleep.
  • Regular daytime fatigue, can easily lie down for a nap and fall asleep during day or eve. Scored a 6 on the Epworth scale, which I understand is not very high.
  • I use blackout curtains, eye mask, earplugs. Home and neighborhood are very quiet.
Due to [insert rant about sh*tty state of U.S. healthcare system] a proper sleep study in a lab is cost prohibitive. This may change in the future.

So for now, what kind of roadmap can I follow to at least narrow down my diagnosis?
  • Check blood O2 levels?
  • Try CPAP machine (as noted on forums, much cheaper than a sleep study)
  • Other things I can try?
My goal is to find short term clues and relief, while acknowledging I need a full sleep study in the future.

Thanks all!

M4
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Newbie - seeking roadmap for Dx and Tx
First step would be a recording oximeter. This would tell if your O2 is dropping during the night. It will NOT say yes, you have sleep apnea, but it would reveal there is a problem. Also check during the day several times to see what your typical blood O2 is. Normal resting should be 96 plus. Normal sleep should be 90-92 and up.