Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Newbie with nose pillows
Newbie with nose pillows
My questions have probably been asked and answered here on this board so I apologize ahead of time for not finding them. I was probably using the wrong search terms.

I'm new to this and haven't really had any success.
I bought a Respironics Dream Station and a Resmed Nasal mask which I tried for a few nights.
It froze the inside of my nose so I then ordered  nasal pillows and adjusted the pressure all the way down to 4.5.
I lie there with all this air going into my nose and out my mouth. I see discussions about using chin straps but there's really no way for air to be exhaled.
I avoided buying the CPAP machine through the clinic that tested me since they quoted double the price of Amazon (respirologists are slapping their heads now).
Should I:
Go see a pro?
Try a full face mask?
Stick with what I've got and get used to it?
Lose 20 pounds, do neck exercises and re-purpose my machine to inflate ballons?

Thanks,
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Newbie with nose pillows
If you are inhaling through your nose then you exhale through your nose as well.
I was a lifelong mouth breather..practicing breathing with nasal pillows while sitting up awake watching TV a few evenings helped a lot with keeping my mouth shut while sleeping.

Hint - there is a flap in the back of your throat that should open and close when you are breathing through your nose..pressing your tongue flat against the roof of your mouth 10 times will exercise the flap.
Post Reply Post Reply
(01-04-2020, 04:43 PM)harrywr2 Wrote: If you are inhaling through your nose then you exhale through your nose as well.

Thanks for your reply.

I can't exhale through the nasal thing. It only has tiny holes.
Post Reply Post Reply