Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

[News] VA's sleep apnea patients get top priority for care
RE: VA's sleep apnea patients get top priority for care
(06-03-2014, 05:17 AM)jpsantell Wrote: I'm a service connected disabled vet priority group 2. I have been diagnosed with apnea but have not had a change in my status nor has my rating increased to 50%. I do have to say that I have been waiting for my cpap through the VA for 9 weeks now and every time I go over to the hospital I'm told there is a back log and be patient. It appears they have contracted with an outside provider Apnea Care out of Buffalo in my case and when I called there yesterday, the Va rep was right on the edge of rude, good thing he didn't step over the line because at this point I'm ready to call corporate to ask where my cpap is. Way too many hands in the pot here. Whenever I deal exclusively with the VA and not outside providers everything is smooth and efficient. It's when they involve outsiders as in "the private sector" that everything goes to crap. Can you tell I'm tired and cranky?

I believe I'm in "group 3." Yup, no changes because of my diagnosis. I have no idea where the author of that crap article got his/her information. But I agree with you that the only occasion I have ever had that something didn't flow perfectly smoothly, or as it should was when a "private sector" was involved.

The VA wanted to check to see how my gallstone is behaving, so they hired a local ultrasound bunch to do it so I wouldn't be inconvenienced by having to drive to the medical center. The local bunch did a 2 minute crappy job, sent the VA their bill, and we still have no idea if my gallstone is growing nicely or not.