Post Reply 
No Ramp Symbol?
Author Message
boar Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 26
Joined: Nov 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: Hi5
CPAP Pressure: 6cm to 14cm
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Sydney formely Brisbane

Post: #1
No Ramp Symbol?
Hi,

First post, apology if it is in the wrong place. I did a quick search but no go.

Anyway, I have just bought a new Resmed 9 Auto with Humidifier but it seems I have no ramp symbol. I can see the home symbol and the humidifier symbol. I have read the instruction but it only tells me how to set up the ramp not that I need to set up the ramp because i was prescribed a range of 6-14 but just out of curiosity why i cant see the ramp symbol? Or did i missed something? The manual was very vague.

Just want to learn more about my new machine :grin:.

Note - the whole experience of seeing the sleep doctor, doing the sleep test, and so forth, and finally buying a machine have been a costly experience but having said that I believe during my 6 weeks trial. It has helped me. Not a OMG change but a small change. Thus, I like to think this is a good investment and hopefully, more progress can occur.
11-05-2013 08:54 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
robysue Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 1,217
Joined: Oct 2013

Machine: PR Dreamstation BiPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: PR Dreamstation humidfier
CPAP Pressure: min EPAP = 4; max IPAP = 9;
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic EncorePro

Other Comments: Papping since September 2010

Sex: Female
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post: #2
RE: No Ramp Symbol?
Could be the clinician who set the machine up turned off patient access to the ramp in the clinician's menu. Have you got the clinical menu for your machine?

Also, it's important for you to establish whether you've got the S9 AutoSet or the S9 Escape Auto. They are different machines with different data capabilities. The AutoSet is the better of the two machines in terms of the data recorded.
11-05-2013 09:13 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
boar Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 26
Joined: Nov 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: Hi5
CPAP Pressure: 6cm to 14cm
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Sydney formely Brisbane

Post: #3
RE: No Ramp Symbol?
I must be blind cause I cant see an edit button. I would also like to ask how long do these machines lasts generally? Thanks.
11-05-2013 09:17 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
boar Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 26
Joined: Nov 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: Hi5
CPAP Pressure: 6cm to 14cm
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Sydney formely Brisbane

Post: #4
RE: No Ramp Symbol?
(11-05-2013 09:13 AM)robysue Wrote:  Could be the clinician who set the machine up turned off patient access to the ramp in the clinician's menu. Have you got the clinical menu for your machine?

I dont have the clinical menu unfortunately.

Also, it's important for you to establish whether you've got the S9 AutoSet or the S9 Escape Auto. They are different machines with different data capabilities. The AutoSet is the better of the two machines in terms of the data recorded.

On the receipt it says just S9 Autoset and at the back of the machine it only said S9.

It cost me over 2000 AUD. Not sure what is the price difference between the Auto and Escape.
11-05-2013 09:23 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
robysue Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 1,217
Joined: Oct 2013

Machine: PR Dreamstation BiPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: PR Dreamstation humidfier
CPAP Pressure: min EPAP = 4; max IPAP = 9;
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic EncorePro

Other Comments: Papping since September 2010

Sex: Female
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post: #5
RE: No Ramp Symbol?
First, follow the instructions at http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual to get a copy of the clinician's manual for your machine. And then read through it carefully. It will teach you how to get into the clinician's menu. That will allow you to find out whether the clinician who set the ramp up locked you out of the ramp settings. While you're in the clinician's menu, make sure SleepQuality is set to ON instead of USAGE. That way your machine will record full efficacy data to the SD card AND you'll be able to get at the summary data through the machine's LCD without getting into the clinician's menu. It's a real convenience to be able to just check the LCD for the numbers in the morning if you don't want to take the time to download all the data.

Second, the expected lifetime of these machines is at least 5 years. Most US insurance companies (and US Medicare) have been willing to pay for a new machine every 5 years, but many are starting to reevaluate that since many 5 year old machines are going strong. There are users who have had the same machine for as long as 10 years, but most people do tend to upgrade their equipment every 5 years or so simply for comfort reasons. A lot can change in 5 years in terms of the comfort technology.
(This post was last modified: 11-05-2013 09:31 AM by robysue.)
11-05-2013 09:25 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,424
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #6
RE: No Ramp Symbol?
Hi boar,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
It's GREAT to hear that you want to learn about your new machine, you have a good attitude and that goes a long way toward your therapy. CPAP can take a while before you notice much change. Some notice it right away and others, it takes a bit. Your "OMG change," may be more gradual but it does get better.
Hang in there for more answers to your question and good luck to you with your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
11-05-2013 09:27 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
robysue Online
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 1,217
Joined: Oct 2013

Machine: PR Dreamstation BiPAP Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Swift FX
Humidifier: PR Dreamstation humidfier
CPAP Pressure: min EPAP = 4; max IPAP = 9;
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic EncorePro

Other Comments: Papping since September 2010

Sex: Female
Location: Buffalo, NY

Post: #7
RE: No Ramp Symbol?
(11-05-2013 09:23 AM)boar Wrote:  On the receipt it says just S9 Autoset and at the back of the machine it only said S9.
It should be an AutoSet. What does the label on the machine right above the big round on/off button on the left of the blower unit say? (I'm talking about the push button, not the big knob on the right that twists)
11-05-2013 09:28 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
boar Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 26
Joined: Nov 2013

Machine: Resmed S9 Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: Hi5
CPAP Pressure: 6cm to 14cm
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Sydney formely Brisbane

Post: #8
RE: No Ramp Symbol?
@Trish6hudred. I am sure it will be "OMG change" sooner or later. Thanks.

@Robysue, yeah it says Autoset. Thanks for the link. Will read through it. The sleep tech set everything up and only explained the basic stuff to me but as I said, i would like to learn more about the machine considering I spent a lot of money on it. The sleep tech should have already set it to the SleepQuality as the sleep doctor wants to see the data in 6 months. Thanks.
11-05-2013 09:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,839
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #9
RE: No Ramp Symbol?
(11-05-2013 09:25 AM)robysue Wrote:  Second, the expected lifetime of these machines is at least 5 years. Most US insurance companies (and US Medicare) have been willing to pay for a new machine every 5 years, but many are starting to reevaluate that since many 5 year old machines are going strong. There are users who have had the same machine for as long as 10 years, but most people do tend to upgrade their equipment every 5 years or so simply for comfort reasons. A lot can change in 5 years in terms of the comfort technology.

It makes sense to update at 5 years. Just like computers and smartphones, technology in these machines improves. The machines become smarter; and are able to operate with greater comfort as algorithms improve. My S8 machine has been cranking along for over 4 years; but, it's a dinosaur compared to most S9 machines.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
11-05-2013 09:50 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #10
RE: No Ramp Symbol?
(11-05-2013 09:40 AM)boar Wrote:  The sleep tech should have already set it to the SleepQuality as the sleep doctor wants to see the data in 6 months. Thanks.
You want ensure "Sleep Quality" set to "ON" as shown here
[Image: s9-pic2.jpg]
S9 setup video http://www.apneaboard.com/resmed-s9-cpap-setup

Here is the links to the software http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-Private-Files-and-Links
11-05-2013 02:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Dream Station Ramp and Pressure Settings knowoneuno 14 221 Today 11:34 AM
Last Post: knowoneuno
  Auto ramp: Do you use, why or why not. Rcgop 18 600 11-29-2016 08:23 AM
Last Post: 0rangebear
  Smart Ramp bernerbits 2 301 09-14-2016 09:19 PM
Last Post: stephennic
  just settings bipap auto 20/12.. pressure ramp brejust 3 340 09-01-2016 02:07 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  [Equipment] To Ramp or not to Ramp EwanRGR 8 625 07-14-2016 08:41 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  Ramp Feature TheLionSleeps 13 928 07-03-2016 01:51 AM
Last Post: vsheline
  Changing ramp time Fisher Paykal Sleep Style 600 HAVAGO 5 371 07-02-2016 11:58 PM
Last Post: vsheline

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)