Post Reply 
No more Auto mode for me
Author Message
JimZZZ Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 370
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: ResMed H5i (not using)
CPAP Pressure: 9 - 14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: CareFusion PureSom Ultra Chinstrap

Sex: Male
Location: Western North Carolina

Post: #11
RE: No more Auto mode for me
IMHO if the autoset range is narrow enough (mine is 9-14) your experience is very similar to being in S mode. Originally I was at 4-16 and found the large pressure changes to be disturbing and the AHI was higher. My average pressure is around 10, 95% about 12 and I rarely see a a max above 13 so really it's almost constant. To me the value of the autoset was the ability to self titrate, tweak and arrive at the best range.
08-29-2014 06:34 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Simon M Offline

Members-b

Posts: 20
Joined: Aug 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: Inappropriate
Humidifier: Inappropriate
CPAP Pressure: Inappropriate
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: Not relevant

Sex: Male
Location: Inappropriate

Post: #12
RE: No more Auto mode for me
I've only been using the Auto setting for a month, and it's helped me a great deal. I was on a set pressure from 2005 until last month, but have found that the Auto feature really helps me to sleep through the night without suddenly waking. Just saw the sleep specialist today, and my stats are really good, so I guess the Auto thing agrees with me. Everyone is different. Smile
08-29-2014 09:29 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
PaytonA Offline
Wiki Editor
Monitors

Posts: 3,013
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Resmed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: H5i(distilled-top up)
CPAP Pressure: VAuto MinE14.0 MaxI 20.6 PS4.0
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Orange County,California

Post: #13
RE: No more Auto mode for me
(08-28-2014 10:29 PM)Ghost1958 Wrote:  Ive had pretty good luck with Auto on the PR560 auto. It was set by the sleep lab and doc to min 6 max 15. However with the Optistart turned on every thirty hours it recalculates the starting pressure to where it has run 95 percent of the time to eliminate events.

That is pretty cool. I did not realize that the PR auto machines did that.
That seems to me to be a great feature.
08-29-2014 11:08 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Ghost1958 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 957
Joined: Aug 2014

Machine: PRS1 Series Sixty Auto Aflex
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Eson
Humidifier: PRS1 with Heated Hose
CPAP Pressure: 10.5 min 16 max
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Moderate to Severe SA Obstructive. Rapid O2 desat off the machine.

Sex: Male
Location: KY

Post: #14
RE: No more Auto mode for me
(08-29-2014 11:08 AM)PaytonA Wrote:  
(08-28-2014 10:29 PM)Ghost1958 Wrote:  Ive had pretty good luck with Auto on the PR560 auto. It was set by the sleep lab and doc to min 6 max 15. However with the Optistart turned on every thirty hours it recalculates the starting pressure to where it has run 95 percent of the time to eliminate events.

That is pretty cool. I did not realize that the PR auto machines did that.
That seems to me to be a great feature.

I dont know if the pr550 autos did or not. The 560 autos do.

And your doc can have the DME disable the feature and it wont show up except in the clinical menu so alot of folks probably dont know the machine has Optistart. My Doc didnt disable anything and neither did the DME because I told them up front I knew how to get into to clinical and would just turn all the features on I wanted if they didnt LOL.

But yes it works very well at narrowing the min pressure and max pressure to an effective range and keeping it there as it changes by recalculating every thirty hours of use. After 4 nights it bumped my start pressure up to 8.5. The preset 6 and 15 still show in the menu but when therapy starts it shows a screen Optistart 8.5 then backlight goes out. The sleepy head and Encore basic software show the new start pressure as "Optistart 8.5" or whatever pressure it has recalculated itself too whenever it changes the start pressure

But it wont go above the max set pressure.
(This post was last modified: 08-29-2014 03:45 PM by Ghost1958.)
08-29-2014 03:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #15
RE: No more Auto mode for me
(08-28-2014 07:01 PM)Peter_C Wrote:  My sleep doc only suggests auto mode for learning. He likes set pressures as he believes your body responds better to set pressures better - even with the risk on an event coming that might need a higher pressure. He believes better sleep/rest to be had with fixed pressures.

Does your sleep doc understand that you don't have to use the full 4-20 pressure range? Many of them don't seem to understand this. If you "need" a pressure of 12, the minimum pressure can be set to be 10, and you don't have to start back at 4 every night. I think almost everyone gets better sleep if they don't start way below their "normal" pressure.

You can still leave the maximum pressure set a little higher or even wide open if you don't get "runaways" to handle difficult nights, different sleeping positions, different sleep stages, etc.

As a worst case, if you would use 12 on manual, you can still set the minimum pressure at 12.

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
08-29-2014 04:06 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
Question A10 autoset in CPAP mode- all data recorded? PreciousRoy 3 249 10-31-2016 04:25 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  airsense10 auto cpap(for him) VS DreamStation Auto CPAP DSX500T11 w/HT humid rookiepom 5 864 10-09-2016 07:52 AM
Last Post: stephennic
  Dreamstation - CFlex or aflex in auto mode stephennic 9 889 08-29-2016 07:20 PM
Last Post: NorthernGuy
Ohmy Resmed S9 auto vs Airsense 10 auto sleepyonpar1 6 722 08-11-2016 09:10 PM
Last Post: zonk
  Dreamstation auto or Resmed S9 auto? Ockrocket 13 816 08-04-2016 11:09 PM
Last Post: stephennic
  Is Resmed S9 Autoset mode suitable for central sleep apnea? napnaptime 46 5,945 07-16-2016 09:39 PM
Last Post: DeepBreathing
  S10 data in Airplane mode jimw159 3 322 07-03-2016 07:32 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)