Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Nocturia is driving me nuts
RE: Nocturia is driving me nuts
Route67,
1st just to qualify I'm not a doctor...just a long term nocturia suffer. I've been battling a sleep disorder for about 10 years now. After 2 false negative sleep studies (there was no way I could sleep in the lab) in fact I even got diagnosed with narcolepsy!!! The day after one of my sleep test they gave me a multiple sleep latency test (MSLT)...and did the narcolepsy diganosis. It defied logic to me as I told the doc of course I'd fall asleep quickly after not sleeping the night before...but I guess that's another story.

Anyway I've been taking 'Desmopressin' nasal spray at bed time for several years now. Its not a bladder control med its an anti diuretic med. Google treatment of nocturia with desmopressin as it's becoming a mainstream treatment....I convinced my family doc to try it several years ago after all the urology and sleep test came up negative. I came across a article in the British journal of urology about using it for nocturia and presented it to him in desperation after getting up 5-6 times per night to go. It's typically used in kids that wet the bed or those with other urological disorders. Anyway we gave it a try and it worked!...6xs a night down to 1 or 2xs a night. Good thing I had an open minded dr...anyway be prepared to gain some water weight at first and they have to monitor your salt levels regularly.