Post Reply 
Non USA users - do you use an adapter or replace the plug?
Author Message
kowlooner Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 31
Joined: Apr 2016

Machine: PR Remstar Auto 560
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Sleepweaver Advance, Aloha (backup)
Humidifier: Remstar
CPAP Pressure: 13
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Started CPAP in May 2016. Should have done this 10 or 15 years ago.

Sex: Male
Location: Hong Kong

Post: #1
Non USA users - do you use an adapter or replace the plug?
This is more of a question about electricity supply and all. So, any electricians out there, this is for you!

If you bought a machine from the US but are using it elsewhere where the voltage is different and the plugs are a different shape, did you just use an adapter or did you switch out the plug on the power cord? And, is that safe?

I'm assuming it's not a hazard, though it might affect the warranty. And from what I understand, most CPAP machines are multi-voltage so it's just a matter of an adapter / plug shape. But please correct me if I'm wrong about that!

Thanks in advance.
05-15-2016 09:21 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
chill Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 842
Joined: Mar 2016

Machine: DreamStation X500
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Walk-in Mask Closet
Humidifier: DreamStation
CPAP Pressure: 13-16
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: CPAP True Believer

Sex: Male
Location: Vancouver, Canada

Post: #2
RE: Non USA users - do you use an adapter or replace the plug?
For the DreamStation, the power adaptor (aka brick) is external to the CPAP machine. It is multi-voltage. The electrical line from the wall to the adaptor unplugs. I assume that is so you can use a different electrical line in different countries. I don't see any danger in this. In fact, I think this is why they make them like this - it reduces manufacturing costs when selling to multiple areas as you only need to include a different line in the package.
05-15-2016 10:22 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
surferdude2 Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,076
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #3
RE: Non USA users - do you use an adapter or replace the plug?
If your CPAP uses a "power brick", it will ordinarily be rated 100 ~ 240 @ 50/60 Hz/sec.. An adapter is all you need for operating anywhere that has a line voltage within that range. No need to cut the plug off and change it unless it's worn and needs replacing.

If you do need to replace the plug, it's pretty simple since it's a 2 conductor cord. If you will look at the power cord closely, you will notice that one of the individual wires has a ribbed jacket while the other one is smooth. The ribbed jacketed wire should be connected to the identified terminal of the plug. The identified terminal is the bright plated one, not the brass colored one. If there is no identified terminal, connect the ribbed conductor to terminal that goes to the right-hand side blade of the plug, as you view it from the plug face. That isn't really all that important since you can plug it in reversed at the wall given that this particular plug has no polarity protection method, such as a wide neutral blade or a round grounding blade like some others do.

Dude
05-15-2016 10:34 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
mscottc Offline

Members

Posts: 6
Joined: Apr 2016

Machine: Respironics Dreamstation
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Respironics Amira
Humidifier: Built In
CPAP Pressure: 5-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Jersey City, NJ, USA

Post: #4
RE: Non USA users - do you use an adapter or replace the plug?
I just came back from using my Respironics Dreamstation and a whole host of other electronic gear in a 220 volt location. All you really need is the two pronged plug adapter that matches the location you are travelling to. Making sure you have the RIGHT adapter is the only really tricky part, though most hotels will have adapters that include the US Standard Plug

OTOH, if you are bringing multiple electronic devices, including your CPAP, I'd recommend this Universal surge protector/power strip along with a three prong grounded power adapter (again country specific). For anything that uses almost any power brick, from phones to your CPAP and your PCs, all the power bricks can handle 110-220 with no issue.

Search on Amazon for "Simran SM-60 Universal Power Strip 3 Outlets for 110V-250V Worldwide Travel with Surge/Overload Protection"
I have not yet reached the number of posts for me to include links.
05-15-2016 10:46 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
surferdude2 Online

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,076
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #5
RE: Non USA users - do you use an adapter or replace the plug?
Of course will must always be aware that any 120 volt single rated voltage device will be destroyed if you merely use a plug adapter to plug it in to a 240 volt system! No magic protection there!

Always check the power specs. listed on the device. Many power adapters are not "Travel Rated" and will only work on 120 volts.

Dude
(This post was last modified: 05-15-2016 10:58 AM by surferdude2.)
05-15-2016 10:54 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,838
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #6
RE: Non USA users - do you use an adapter or replace the plug?
We have a number of members who are in Australia.
IIRC, they are able to buy power cords for Resmed power bricks that plug directly into the sockets they use.

To quote from an old thread by member zonk: "...get an Aussie S8 power cord (works with S9 and AirSense 10 power supply) from Supplier #13..."

That won't work for Honk Kong because the wall sockets are different.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
05-15-2016 01:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
palerider Offline

Preferred Members-

Posts: 440
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: s9 vpap auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: p10
Humidifier: none
CPAP Pressure: 18/13+
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Dallas(ish)

Post: #7
RE: Non USA users - do you use an adapter or replace the plug?
(05-15-2016 09:21 AM)kowlooner Wrote:  This is more of a question about electricity supply and all. So, any electricians out there, this is for you!

If you bought a machine from the US but are using it elsewhere where the voltage is different and the plugs are a different shape, did you just use an adapter or did you switch out the plug on the power cord? And, is that safe?

the *proper* answer is you buy a wall cord that's appropriate for your country

the wall to brick cord terminates with a IEC 60320/C7 international standard connector..

cords are available in most every country with the country specific plug on one end, and the IEC 60320/C7 on the other.

eg:

[Image: 2491018-40.jpg]

[Image: mWQ7G931JEhgPtt66BaoZNA.jpg]

[Image: IEC-60320-C7-connector.jpg]
05-15-2016 04:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #8
RE: Non USA users - do you use an adapter or replace the plug?
(05-15-2016 01:36 PM)justMongo Wrote:  We have a number of members who are in Australia.
IIRC, they are able to buy power cords for Resmed power bricks that plug directly into the sockets they use.

To quote from an old thread by member zonk: "...get an Aussie S8 power cord (works with S9 and AirSense 10 power supply) from Supplier #13..."

That won't work for Honk Kong because the wall sockets are different.
justMongo is correct, I'm using locally bought S8 power cord instead the one that comes with the machine from US
I'm sure, there are power cords for some appliances might works too but haven't looked into them
Suitable plug adapter works as well

Q. Will my machine work in a foreign country?
http://www.resmed.com/au/en/consumer/sup...-faqs.html

A. Yes, your CPAP, APAP or bilevel sleep apnea machine will work in a foreign country, just make sure you pack the correct plug adapter for the country you're travelling to, because power outlets may differ between countries. Adapters can be bought from most electronics and travel stores, as well as in airports.
(This post was last modified: 05-15-2016 05:08 PM by zonk.)
05-15-2016 05:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
kowlooner Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 31
Joined: Apr 2016

Machine: PR Remstar Auto 560
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Sleepweaver Advance, Aloha (backup)
Humidifier: Remstar
CPAP Pressure: 13
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Started CPAP in May 2016. Should have done this 10 or 15 years ago.

Sex: Male
Location: Hong Kong

Post: #9
RE: Non USA users - do you use an adapter or replace the plug?
Thanks everybody, and especially Palerider. I hadn't even thought of that cord to brick connection. I might even have a few spares from old laptops lying around (assuming they're the same thing).

As for the 110/220 voltage difference, the machine (just arrived!) is a Respironics 560. Variable voltage brick.

Anyway, the reason I was asking was just to avoid having to use an adapter all the time since it's for home use. Just doesn't look as good. Takes up more space, too. Figured changing the plug was easy enough but wasn't sure if that was a good idea or not. I figured there wouldn't be a issue since it's just about socket shape, but I wasn't sure about if there might be a problem with grounding or something.

Also just FYI, in case the question comes up elsewhere, HK's plugs are the same as in the UK.

So, the next step is probably is quick hunt through a couple of stores to see if I can find a new cord with the IEC 60320/C7 connector.

Again, thanks for all the input!
05-16-2016 11:19 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,988
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #10
RE: Non USA users - do you use an adapter or replace the plug?
(05-16-2016 11:19 AM)kowlooner Wrote:  Thanks everybody, and especially Palerider. I hadn't even thought of that cord to brick connection. I might even have a few spares from old laptops lying around (assuming they're the same thing).

They are.

Quote:So, the next step is probably is quick hunt through a couple of stores to see if I can find a new cord with the IEC 60320/C7 connector.

Your best bet is probably Amazon. Much better prices assuming you can wait for the delivery. Another option is the adapter. The one I have for the UK grid is pretty compact.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
05-16-2016 12:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Is it time to replace cushion on the mask worthog 3 193 11-26-2016 10:50 PM
Last Post: GP49
  [CPAP] Time to replace wifes machine 420benz 6 418 10-04-2016 10:58 AM
Last Post: 420benz
  [CPAP] can pacemaker users use CPAP machine wt92555 10 497 10-02-2016 07:16 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  ? for 960 ASV users bons 2 184 09-14-2016 02:12 PM
Last Post: bons
  No reduction in heart attacks for cpap users Crist 23 1,487 08-29-2016 07:04 PM
Last Post: Sleepster
  Oxygen adapter on CPAP hose PaulaO2 6 492 08-29-2016 12:00 AM
Last Post: PaulaO2
  Any CPAP users that don't use humidifiers. To use or not? Gabby 49 8,231 08-26-2016 07:19 AM
Last Post: Sleepster

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)