Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Noobie with comment and question
Noobie with comment and question
Hi All:

I am brand new to the ApneaBoard community and I just had a few comments and some questions.

Background:
I have a long history with SA; I was always a world class snorer, but back in the 1980's I was falling asleep at stoplights and in meetings and I knew something had to be done so I went to my ENT, who referred me to a sleep doc. After a home sleep test it turns out I had severe OSA, and surgery was recommended. I am not even sure whether PAP machines were common then; were they? I had UPPP (uvulopalatopharyngoplasty (sp?)) and the symptoms were reduced to what at the time was considered "mild OSA" and little snoring. The next recommendation was to have more surgery, cutting my jawbone and moving it forward 1-2 cm. this was major surgery, would have required 3 more years of orthodontia, so I said no thanks.

My sleep and snoring have worsened slowly through the years, and my wife said I was exhibiting the symptoms of bad OSA again. I got a sleep study authorization from my doc, had the study (not a great job by the center IMHO) which turned out to be a split study as my OSA was evident from early on:
Baseline AHI 76.8, RDI 78.7, minimum O2 81%, avg O2 96%; titration showed range of 4 - 13.