Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Not recording proper usage
#1
So I just got back from a trip to Norfolk, VA and I took my machine with me. I used it every night for at least 7 hours, but each morning when I woke up it said my usage was actually less than what I used it for. The first night, which I slept great and my AHI was down to 3.0, I slept for over 7 hours, but the usage only showed a tad under 6 hours. The last night I used the machine for right about 7 hours, but the machine showed I used it for less than 6 hours. I traveled from Hawaii to Norfolk and did not mess with the time settings at all. Not really understanding why I was getting incorrect usage hours and wondering if I should believe the AHI numbers if the usage is incorrect.

Anyone else have this issue?
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
You are from Hawaii (UTC -10:00), and you went to VA (UTC -4:00), that is difference in 6 hours due to timezone differences. It is possible that your machine was putting the time in the next/previous day (switch over is typically 12 Noon).

Your sleepyhead daily report would show the sessions you had and how long they were.
Current Settings PS 4.0 over 10.6-18.0 (cmH2O) BiLevel Auto
TNET Sleep Resource Pages
CPAP Machine Database
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
Well gosh! The time change from Hawaii to the east coast must have cancelled out the hours of CPAP use.

I have no idea what happened, but figured, anyone that has been in Hawaii can handle the abuse. Smile
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Did you have a large leak at all?
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
(06-06-2015, 10:54 PM)Sleeprider Wrote: Well gosh! The time change from Hawaii to the east coast must have cancelled out the hours of CPAP use.

I have no idea what happened, but figured, anyone that has been in Hawaii can handle the abuse. Smile

I am thinking it has something to do with the timezone changes.

Yeah Hawaii is beautiful, but I am really looking forward to getting back to CONUS permanently next year.

(06-06-2015, 11:02 PM)Adoniscmj Wrote: Did you have a large leak at all?

I haven't downloaded the data to sleepyhead yet, but I got all smiley faces on the machine. I'll check that out.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
I'm having the same problem with my Aircurve 10 ASV. Sleepyhead is showing me that the recording is for the day before, and when I hit the stop button when I wake up, after so many hours; even if I get up to pee or not, it says 0:30 on the timer, even if I had it on for over 8 hours. I plan on calling the DME back tomorrow. Might have to have them come mess with it, or switch out my machine. My doctor said she noticed that chunks of my data have been missing.
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
(06-07-2015, 07:09 PM)JVinNE Wrote: I'm having the same problem with my Aircurve 10 ASV. Sleepyhead is showing me that the recording is for the day before, and when I hit the stop button when I wake up, after so many hours; even if I get up to pee or not, it says 0:30 on the timer, even if I had it on for over 8 hours. I plan on calling the DME back tomorrow. Might have to have them come mess with it, or switch out my machine. My doctor said she noticed that chunks of my data have been missing.
There have been some issues reported using sleepyhead and the Aircurve 10 ASV. You might try ResScan and see if it sees something different.
Current Settings PS 4.0 over 10.6-18.0 (cmH2O) BiLevel Auto
TNET Sleep Resource Pages
CPAP Machine Database
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
I had a similar problem with my new Aircurve 10 Vauto. When I looked at my Sleepyhead data there were blocks of time in which it did not record anything. It was losing blocks of data every night and it was under reporting my usage. I exchanged the first machine and the second one did the same thing.

I believe it is caused by an overzealous compliance algorithm. The machine looks at several parameters to decide if you are really using the machine or not. If the machine is running and it senses you are not really using it, it stops recording data.

In my case, I switched to a full face mask an the problem went away--even though I had a smiley face for low leakage when using the nasal mask.
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
(06-07-2015, 07:21 PM)krelvin Wrote:
(06-07-2015, 07:09 PM)JVinNE Wrote: I'm having the same problem with my Aircurve 10 ASV. Sleepyhead is showing me that the recording is for the day before, and when I hit the stop button when I wake up, after so many hours; even if I get up to pee or not, it says 0:30 on the timer, even if I had it on for over 8 hours. I plan on calling the DME back tomorrow. Might have to have them come mess with it, or switch out my machine. My doctor said she noticed that chunks of my data have been missing.
There have been some issues reported using sleepyhead and the Aircurve 10 ASV. You might try ResScan and see if it sees something different.


It's not just Sleepyhead. The machine will log time I spend on it, and then on the last button push of the night, to turn it off, I notice it says 0:30 instead of the full 7-9 hours I had it running.

(06-07-2015, 07:32 PM)swwalden1 Wrote: I had a similar problem with my new Aircurve 10 Vauto. When I looked at my Sleepyhead data there were blocks of time in which it did not record anything. It was losing blocks of data every night and it was under reporting my usage. I exchanged the first machine and the second one did the same thing.

I believe it is caused by an overzealous compliance algorithm. The machine looks at several parameters to decide if you are really using the machine or not. If the machine is running and it senses you are not really using it, it stops recording data.

In my case, I switched to a full face mask an the problem went away--even though I had a smiley face for low leakage when using the nasal mask.

I also use a FFM; a Simplus. What would cause it to compute that I am not using it, when I am totally using it at compliance? I don't get it.

Post Reply Post Reply


#10
If you put the machine in Auto-OFF, then it won't make a difference if you think you are still using it. But, at least you won't have to push the button to stop it. Maybe that will prevent you from getting the 0:30 reading.

By the way, watch the screen for a couple minutes and see if 0:30 reduces to 0:29 or 0:28.

QAL
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Some questions [leakage & proper settings] dhammond 5 187 Yesterday, 11:24 AM
Last Post: nappyhair2
  [Equipment] ResMed AirSense 10 AutoSet: Mask Type & Data Recording foco 7 376 10-01-2017, 07:04 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
Ohmy Recording Oximeter on sale zzzZorro 1 198 10-01-2017, 05:51 PM
Last Post: pholynyk
  Usage hours? HalfAsleep 10 367 09-18-2017, 09:53 PM
Last Post: SideSleeper
  Advice Needed- Problem With Recording on the CMS 50D + Oximeter nico08 4 250 09-07-2017, 12:08 AM
Last Post: aquanaut20
  Recording oximeter for overnight use BrassCat 5 649 07-22-2017, 01:27 PM
Last Post: ysundfw
  Battery usage, while camping hansk 78 4,634 07-12-2017, 12:56 PM
Last Post: OMyMyOHellYes

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.