Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

OSCAR data
OSCAR data
    [attachment=50684]    

Hi! So grateful to find this helpful forum.

Background: I've been using CPAP for a couple of months. (Initial sleep study AHI 23. Dx OSA, Rx 7-12). I'm a mouth breather lifelong but am using Somnifix tape and (I think) it's working fine to have me breathe through my nose. I hated Ramp so I don't use it.
I'm a couple weeks into having my own ResMed 11. I am using a Pillow Mask Sunday through Thursday nights and a Nasal Mask Friday and Saturdays (also used this past Thursday); pillows are nice, but too many days in a row, and I feel like I've been punched in the nose!

Here are my concerns, and I'd love your thoughts:
1. I see high leak rates especially on days I use Nasal mask, but the events are low. Does this mean it's not properly recording events, or that the leaks don't matter, or... ? Any tests you recommend I run?
2. I adjusted my own max pressure up from 12 to 13. Does this seem appropriate? Any downside?
3. EPR is off. Any reason to test Full EPR at 1,2, or 3? What am I looking for?
4. I don't use a humidifier on the ResMed... I've got enough to deal with already, plus I don't have dry mouth. Does this seem OK?
5. Anything else that concerns you? Any other experiments you think I should run?

Thank you so much!
Pam

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: OSCAR data
1. The first objective should be to get the leak rates under control. Until then, your actual readings are suspect.
2. There is little downside to adjusting the pressure. From what I see, I, personally, would try an 8 - 15 range because you appear to be spending most of your time maxed out at 13.