Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Hate noise of PRS1 Auto 60 Series machine
Sad 
Hate noise of PRS1 Auto 60 Series machine
I have been using this machine for a couple of months and the sound on inhalation aggravates me and keeps me awake. Sometimes it takes me 4 hours to fall asleep.

It took a while to get used to my old machine's sound but certainly not 2 months. I would go back to the old machine but it is dying.

I saw the sleep doctor today and she thinks I need to talk to my psychiatrist about it. I don't think it's a psychological issue. I am in a rental period with the PRS1 and I wonder if I should be trying to talk my doctor into ordering the ResMed S9 AutoSet for me.

Does anyone have experience with both the PRS1 Auto and the ResMed S9 AutoSet? Is the ResMed quieter?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Hate noise of PRS1 Auto 60 Series machine
What sleep doctor think a psychiatrist will do to fix a noisy machine? maybe the psychiatrist does CPAP repair on the side

If the noise is loud enough to interfere with your sleep, take it back (might be faulty) replaced with new machine or different machine

My machines does make a slight noise at exhale, others have the same problem too. I've a small fan next to the machine and place it below the mattress. You might place the machine on mouse pad to dampen the noise and try something ... like turn off Flex/Ramp, humidifier without the heated hose, place the machine further away from you, sleep on the side not facing the machine ... something might work, who knows
Post Reply Post Reply
I've used both and found little difference noise wise, but maybe I'm less sensitive to noise than you. I generally have found noise variation between different masks far more noticeable.
Post Reply Post Reply