Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

One week on CPAP
One week on CPAP

I'm a newbie to this site, but have been reading a lot of the posts, and find then to be very helpful.

I have only been using a CPAP machine for one week, but it has definately improved my life. I didn't even know I had sleep apnea until about two weeks ago, actually I didn't even know what sleep apnea was.

I've been having problems with high blood pressure over the past few months, The last time I went to my doctor, he put me on a "water pill" along with the BP meds, this combination of meds did not bring down my blood pressure, instead it was going up.

One day about two weeks ago my BP went up to 200/128 (the highest it's even been) I went to the hospital, they took a cardiogram, urine test, blood test, and lung x-ray which all came back ok, the DR. said I he believed I had sleep apnea, I had all the symptoms, tired all through the day, getting up in the morning and wishing I could go back to bed, no energy, very loud snoring at night, so loud my wife had to sleep on the couch, needing a nap in the afternoon, mood swings, I used to drink heavily on my days off, because I felt so miserable and tired , the high blood pressure, in addition I work shift work, which made these problems even worse.

New CPAP machines are very expensive, so I searched sites on the internet such as Kijiji, where I found a machine for $550, with only 17 hours on it.

After the first night I used the machine I noticed a big improvment, I woke up feeling rested and I had energy, I haven't felt like this in months or years, my wife says I no longer snore, I no longer feel like I need a nap in the afternoon, the mood swings are gone, and I no longer drink like I did, and my blood pressure has dropped.