Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Optimizing Dreamstation Auto
RE: Optimizing Dreamstation Auto
Hello mnemon81,

I want to start out by saying I am not a professional sleep technician or anything like that. Looking at the chart data, you might have a mask leak or an issue where your mouth opens when you fall asleep. That was a situation I had and when I finally used enough Cover-Roll stretch tape from Leukoplast to keep my lips closed, it made a difference in the APAP machines ability to maintain pressure. The Cover-Roll tape I use comes in a 2” x 10 yard roll.

I also had reliable results by closing the gap on the min/max pressures. I'm using 10 to 12 with an ERP of 1 and getting very good results. Anyway, that's my 2-cents. It seems the closer you get to the pressure you need the better the algorithm works. It doesn't seem to handle large swings in pressure very well.

The taping idea seemed weird at first, but it works. The other option would be a chin strap and Knightsbridge Dual Band Anti Snoring Chin Strap is supposed to do a decent job.
Post Reply Post Reply
Hello enjoysleep59!

Yes, I do sometimes open my mouth during sleep, I hope sleeping with a soft cervical collar will address that issue as well.
Some time ago I was thinking about using tape but got a bit worried to suffocate as I do get a blocked nose from time to time Smile
Do you tape whole lips or just a wee strip in a middle for safety?
Sleep-well
Post Reply Post Reply
I use a 2" by 3" or 4" piece of tape. I was cutting a small slit , but I found I was puffing through that and stopped. I have a full face mask just in case my nose is stuffy, but so far I haven't needed to use it. I dog ear a corner of the tape to make it easy to pull off if I need to. So far, I've had no issues.