Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Oscar Question
Oscar Question
Okay, I'm not good with numbers, so if someone could explain this as they would to a five year old, I'd be grateful.

In the OSCAR sidebar, what to the columns 95% and 99.5% actually mean? 

Also, with regards to Flow Limits, what is the Median column actually telling me? Mine is always zero or a very small number, like .01 or .02, which doesn't make sense to me based on my understanding of what the median represents.

Thank you in advance for your extremely dumbed down explanations.
Paula

"If I quit now, I will soon be back to where I started. And when I started I was desperately wishing to be where I am now."
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Oscar Question
The values are percentiles.  The term "Median" is the same as a 50%-tile, or the mid-point of all data samples after sorting.   These values are calculated by sorting the data from the lowest value to the highest value, then reports the calculated value at the specified location.  The 95%-tile value means 95% of all sample data is at or below this number.

Example:
A group of numbers:
1  1  99  4  2  5  8  4  3  45

Sorted:
1  1  2  3  4  4  5  8  45  99

Average:  17.2
Median:  4  (mid-point of all data samples)
95%-tile:  74.7 (95% of all data is at or below this value)
99.5%-tile:  96.57 (99.5% of all data is at or below this value)
The use of the 99.5%-tile, instead of displaying the maximum value, is to remove spikes that may be considered artifacts (a bad data points)

- Red
Crimson Nape
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com
Attaching Images and Files on Apnea Board
Apnea Helpful Tips