Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Oxygen feed into BiPap system
Oxygen feed into BiPap system
I just took delivery of a DreamStation BiPAP Auto SV machine.  My doctor prescribed a 1 Liter flow of oxygen so the vendor also provided a Respironics Oxygen concentrator feeding into an adapter between the mask and the heated hose from the Dreamstation.  Now the 1 Liter flow of Oxygen from the concentrator is of such a low pressure that you can barely feel it on your cheek if you hold the host pointed at your face.  The heated hose from the Dreamstation is relatively high pressure (relative to the oxygen hose) varying within the range specified by my doctor.  

I am a retired engineer and everything i know tells me that a low pressure oxygen source feeding into a relatively high pressure Air source from the dreamstation will result in  no flow or flow back into the low pressure oxygen source.  If I am right -  there can be no oxygen flowing into the mask.  I have been wrong many time in my 40 year engineering career - so please help me understand  how this can be working

Thanks in advance
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Oxygen feed into BiPap system
As you must well know, there is a difference between flow rate and pressure. The O2 concentrator is obviously flow limited. You could make a manometer by dunking the O2 hose into a tall glass of water (real tall, 10" or so) and measuring how far down you can push it before the bubbles stop. It should be farther than the maximum cm H2O of your CPAP machine - you are correct that a low pressure O2 won't overcome a greater CPAP pressure.
Or maybe the O2 concentrator has a spec sheet that tells you what its maximum pressure is?
Post Reply Post Reply