Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Oxygen saturation tracking
#1
Hi. I use Resmed S9 CPAP with humidifier and Resmed Swift FX nasal pillow mask. Pressure is 9. Lately I've been having AHI readings on awakening between 6 and 9, not good. This morning finally got 3 after propping myself up on two pillows. Cumulative effect of insufficient oxygen has resulted in excessive yawning, taking deep breaths, etc. I'm wondering if I should invest in a finger oximeter that connects to my iPhone, so I know when it is necessary to change my pressure (yes I know how to change the settings). Recommendations, anyone?
Reply
#2
Recording oximeters are available online. They are not perfect; but can give a general idea as to PsaO2.
Supplier #19 on the list (see top of page) has several models.
As for connection to the iPhone -- I'm not familiar with it.

Why not use an auto cpap machine to adjust pressure as needed?
Unless you experience Central Apneas, an auto machine would seem appropriate. (In my personal opinion.)

The positional effect on Obstructive Apnea is well known. Either raise the angle of incline; or sleep on ones side.
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Reply
#3
Thanks for the tip, especially the autoset part - I haven't yet accessed the Clinical Info menu on my CPAP, and I'll go now to check and make sure autoset is on.

Reply


#4
Darnation. I cannot change the mode from CPAP to Autoset - it stays locked into CPAP setting. I know the ResMed S9 Elite is capable of this feature. Do you or anyone know how I can make the change on my machine?
Reply
#5
The S9 Elite does not have auto pressure set (APAP) capability. You have a straight CPAP machine. It is still a good machine. There are several users that consider straight CPAP as more comfortable therapy so don't change without some serious analysis of your therapy results via software such as ResScan or Sleepyhead.

If you haven't tried sleeping on your side exclusively, do so. You will likely be amazed at how much improvement it will make with your AHI readings.
Reply
#6
(08-22-2015, 08:13 PM)sanctuary Wrote: Darnation. I cannot change the mode from CPAP to Autoset - it stays locked into CPAP setting. I know the ResMed S9 Elite is capable of this feature. Do you or anyone know how I can make the change on my machine?

I do not think it can run Auto. Get the clinician's manual using the link at the top of the page.
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Reply


#7
Hi Sanctuary, welcome to Apnea Board.

As mentioned above, the S9 Elite is a fixed pressure machine and doesn't have an autoset mode. However, you can still optimise the therapy by making adjustments to the pressure. In order to do this, you need to obtain a copy of SleepyHead or ResScan software http://www.apneaboard.com/forums/Forum-P...-and-Links These will give you a great deal of information about how your treatment is going and - with the help of the folks here - you will be able to improve the quality of your therapy.
DeepBreathing
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Bed

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Reply
#8
Hi sanctuary,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
I'm not sure but I think you can unlock your machine to change different settings if you need to,
Hang in there for more suggestions.
Much success to you as you continue your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Oxygen users E.W. 2 99 01-16-2017, 09:56 AM
Last Post: justMongo
  Oxygen Monitor player 5 341 12-22-2016, 03:33 AM
Last Post: 2SleepBetta
  new to cpap and oxygen worried 8 329 12-02-2016, 05:53 PM
Last Post: kwhenrykerr
  Pulse Oxygen Sensor muddywaters 6 461 11-27-2016, 07:23 PM
Last Post: kwhenrykerr
Rainbow [Diagnosis] They want me to use a CPAP with oxygen concentrator Apneaprincess 47 8,416 11-11-2016, 05:18 PM
Last Post: David44142
Question [Diagnosis] Sleep Study Report: Lowest Desaturation vs Lowest Saturation blueelement2016 4 363 11-09-2016, 02:37 AM
Last Post: blueelement2016
  REM and Sleep Stage Tracking at Home rwelliot 14 854 10-18-2016, 05:02 PM
Last Post: robertbuckley

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.