Post Reply 
POWER ADAPTER, BAD?
Author Message
Kate Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 85
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP S
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips Resperonics FitLife
Humidifier: ResMed S5i
CPAP Pressure: 8/4
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: VPAP always makes me feel like my avatar.

Sex: Female
Location: Poulsbo, Washington

Post: #1
Question POWER ADAPTER, BAD?
Is it possible for my power adapter to have gone bad? It now seems, after two replacment machines, that the problem with my machine is on my end.

When supplier#2 sent me the replacements, they did not include new cords. That is the ONLY common denominator between all of the machines, yet I always have the same pressure problems.

In an earlier thread of mine, people on this forum have tried to help me diagnosing the problem. None of those have worked. But thanks to all of you for getting me this far.

Kate

:Using cpap then vpap since Feb.2013,
Kate
08-14-2014 04:44 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #2
RE: POWER ADAPTER, BAD?
Only if you happen to be in Australia, then you need different cord or plug adapter fitting Austrian wall socket

The power supply comes in two versions
1- 90W, power S9 and H5i
2- 30W, machine only (no H5i)
08-14-2014 06:26 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
justMongo Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,851
Joined: Sep 2013

Machine: ResMed VPAP Auto (S9)
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Mirage Quattro
Humidifier: ResMed H5i
CPAP Pressure: 18 IPAPmax - 11 EPAPmin, PS=5
CPAP Software: Other Software

Other Comments: μολὼν λαβέ

Sex: Male
Location: Калифорния

Post: #3
RE: POWER ADAPTER, BAD?
(08-14-2014 04:44 AM)Kate Wrote:  Is it possible for my power adapter to have gone bad? It now seems, after two replacement machines, that the problem with my machine is on my end.

When supplier#2 sent me the replacements, they did not include new cords. That is the ONLY common denominator between all of the machines, yet I always have the same pressure problems.

In an earlier thread of mine, people on this forum have tried to help me diagnosing the problem. None of those have worked. But thanks to all of you for getting me this far.

Kate

Do you mean they didn't send new cords or didn't send a new power brick?

Both cords and the power brick are subject to failure. I'd venture the power brick has more failures than cords.

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
08-14-2014 09:37 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
surferdude2 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 1,077
Joined: Jul 2014

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Mirage Quattro & Optilife
Humidifier: ResMed H5i @ #3 if nose breathing & #5 if mouth breathing
CPAP Pressure: 12 ~ 20 & 11 ~12 if nasal mask
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Late stage 2 emphysema

Sex: Male
Location: Mousetown, Southern Illinois

Post: #4
RE: POWER ADAPTER, BAD?
Kate, The problem is definitely not with the cords or the power supply since you indicated in the other thread that the machine is blowing air albeit not at the correct pressure that you think it should be.

Stick with that other thread and hope that someone that is fully knowledgeable about your particular machine will come forward and give you the answer as to why you are not getting any pressure above 4 cm W.C. It would seem to be a simple setting or possibly you are not measuring it under the proper conditions.

Since you were able to get a replacement and you have determined it has the same problem, the odds are quite high that the problem is not with the machine.

Other Post is Here

Good luck finding the answer.
(This post was last modified: 08-14-2014 03:36 PM by surferdude2.)
08-14-2014 03:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
woozie38 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 248
Joined: Jan 2013

Machine: Fisher & Paykel Icon + Auto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: Integral
CPAP Pressure: 8 to 14
CPAP Software: SleepyHead Other Software

Other Comments: 17 years of CPAP + supp. oxygen @ 3 L/min

Sex: Male
Location: Toowoomba, Queensland Australia

Post: #5
RE: POWER ADAPTER, BAD?
(08-14-2014 03:33 PM)surferdude2 Wrote:  Kate, The problem is definitely not with the cords or the power supply since you indicated in the other thread that the machine is blowing air albeit not at the correct pressure that you think it should be.

Stick with that other thread and hope that someone that is fully knowledgeable about your particular machine will come forward and give you the answer as to why you are not getting any pressure above 4 cm W.C. It would seem to be a simple setting or possibly you are not measuring it under the proper conditions.

Since you were able to get a replacement and you have determined it has the same problem, the odds are quite high that the problem is not with the machine.

Other Post is Here

Good luck finding the answer.
Hi Kate, I think zonk nailed it for you, you must have the appropriate size plug pack. If your machine uses say 70 Watts of power then you need a plug pack of at least 90 Watt capacity. Otherwise the the plug pack will heat up causing higher resistance in the transformer's windings which drops the output voltage causing your machine run slowly with subsequent loss in therapy pressure. After a while the whole thing overheats, the thermal protector cuts off the power & everything stops.

[Image: signature.png]Keep on breathin'
09-05-2014 11:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Skypilot Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 96
Joined: Jun 2014

Machine: ResMed Hire
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AIRFIT™ P10 nasal pilow
Humidifier: H5i Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: Doc said to try 12; was 14
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: The land of Nod is but a dream.

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: Canberra, Australia

Post: #6
RE: POWER ADAPTER, BAD?
(09-05-2014 11:21 PM)woozie38 Wrote:  
(08-14-2014 03:33 PM)surferdude2 Wrote:  Kate, The problem is definitely not with the cords or the power supply since you indicated in the other thread that the machine is blowing air albeit not at the correct pressure that you think it should be.

Stick with that other thread and hope that someone that is fully knowledgeable about your particular machine will come forward and give you the answer as to why you are not getting any pressure above 4 cm W.C. It would seem to be a simple setting or possibly you are not measuring it under the proper conditions.

Since you were able to get a replacement and you have determined it has the same problem, the odds are quite high that the problem is not with the machine.

Other Post is Here

Good luck finding the answer.
Hi Kate, I think zonk nailed it for you, you must have the appropriate size plug pack. If your machine uses say 70 Watts of power then you need a plug pack of at least 90 Watt capacity. Otherwise the the plug pack will heat up causing higher resistance in the transformer's windings which drops the output voltage causing your machine run slowly with subsequent loss in therapy pressure. After a while the whole thing overheats, the thermal protector cuts off the power & everything stops.

They do not use transformers they are switch mode power supplies!
09-06-2014 01:34 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #7
RE: POWER ADAPTER, BAD?
(09-06-2014 01:34 AM)Skypilot Wrote:  They do not use transformers they are switch mode power supplies!

Most switching power supplies do use transformers, but they usually aren't running at 60Hz/120V and are smaller than the older linear power supply transformers.

It's probably not the transformer that overheats but the power brick will probably shut down if you overload it. You do need the higher capacity power supply if you use the heated humidifier.

Kate, have you tried removing the humidifier? Did they ship you a replacement humidifier, or just a replacement blower? My S9 power supply says "90W DC supply" on the bottom. Does yours say something similar?

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
09-06-2014 03:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Kate Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 85
Joined: Dec 2013

Machine: ResMed S9 VPAP S
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips Resperonics FitLife
Humidifier: ResMed S5i
CPAP Pressure: 8/4
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: VPAP always makes me feel like my avatar.

Sex: Female
Location: Poulsbo, Washington

Post: #8
RE: POWER ADAPTER, BAD?
Trying the humidifier was one of the first things that I tried. I bought a new cord and brick. No9e, not it. Tried a voltage meter for the outlet. Nope, not it. Sent that machine back. Have a lovely new machine.

Kate

:Using cpap then vpap since Feb.2013,
Kate
09-06-2014 05:11 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
archangle Offline
Wiki Editor
Advisory Members

Posts: 3,159
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed S9 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: ResMed Swift FX
Humidifier: ResMed S9 H5i
CPAP Pressure: 16-20
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Happy PAPper

Sex: Undisclosed
Location: USA

Post: #9
RE: POWER ADAPTER, BAD?
(09-06-2014 05:11 AM)Kate Wrote:  Trying the humidifier was one of the first things that I tried. I bought a new cord and brick. No9e, not it. Tried a voltage meter for the outlet. Nope, not it. Sent that machine back. Have a lovely new machine.

Kate

So is everything working now? That's great.

Did you have to go through 3 machines to get a good one? Wow!

Get the free SleepyHead software here.
Useful links.
Click here for information on the main alternative to CPAP.
If it's midnight and a DME tells you it's dark outside, go and check it yourself.
09-06-2014 05:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Insurance won't pay for power cord? CharlotteYork 13 897 11-17-2016 11:58 PM
Last Post: tzk321
Idea ResMed S8 repair for no power SuperSleeper 4 255 11-17-2016 02:41 PM
Last Post: 10bigal10
  Power Outage: Stay Awake Or Sleep W/O CPAP? player 11 710 10-26-2016 08:29 PM
Last Post: sonicboom
  WINTER COMING....POWER OUTAGES??? giftofsleep 2 324 10-06-2016 06:52 PM
Last Post: justMongo
  DreamStation power supply Bouncer334 4 558 09-03-2016 11:07 AM
Last Post: Perchas
  [Equipment] Camping for 7 days - AirCurve 10 ASV - battery power? Grooves McFly 21 2,770 08-31-2016 01:29 AM
Last Post: Maskup Sleepwell
  Oxygen adapter on CPAP hose PaulaO2 6 507 08-29-2016 12:00 AM
Last Post: PaulaO2

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)