Post Reply 
PR DreamStation question
Author Message
Singsop Offline

Members

Posts: 9
Joined: Oct 2015

Machine: DreamStation Auto CPAP
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: Dream Wear
Humidifier: Dream Station
CPAP Pressure: 7
CPAP Software: EncorePro

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: California, USA

Post: #1
PR DreamStation question
I have been using my new DME-supplied auto Dream Station for two weeks now. When I go to look at the clinician menu, some things are grayed out, like mode. The snarky RRT said something about locking things down. Anyone know how to bypass her lock? I don't see anything in the clinician manual about such. Is she blowing smoke or am I missing something?

it is not a huge deal, but I am a geek about such things and like to look around. Especially once SleepyHead works for this machine!Thanks
11-06-2015 08:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
OpalRose Offline

Monitors

Posts: 3,178
Joined: Nov 2014

Machine: PR System One REMstar Auto 560 with A Flex
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: AirFit P10 For Her
Humidifier: REMStar heated humidifier with heated hose
CPAP Pressure: Auto Cpap 10-13 AFLEX 1
CPAP Software: SleepyHead EncoreBasic

Other Comments: Started CPAP Therapy October 23, 2014

Sex: Female
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Post: #2
RE: PR DreamStation question
Are you sure you have a clinicians manual? The Manual that comes with the machine is not a clinicians manual.

See top of this page....CPAP Setup Manuals....order through email.

OpalRose
11-06-2015 08:25 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
eseedhouse Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 881
Joined: Dec 2014

Machine: ResMed Airsense 10 Autoset
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: SimPlus
Humidifier: ResMed
CPAP Pressure: 7-10
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Also on supplemental O2 at 3L/min. while sleeping.

Sex: Male
Location: Victoria, British Columbia

Post: #3
RE: PR DreamStation question
According to the info on this page:

http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual

"Once the device is powered, press and hold both the control dial and the Ramp button on the device for at least 5 seconds. You are now in Provider Mode. To adjust a setting, rotate the control dial to your desired menu option, then press the control dial to select that setting. Rotate the control dial to change the setting. Press the control dial again to save the change. Select the "Home" icon to exit Provider Mode and return to Patient Mode"

I would not deal with a provider that wouldn't give me this information up front. Fortunately mine did and doesn't mind my adjusting the machine. Of course, you might not have had a choice, but I think a DME supplier that doesn't like you adjusting your own machine is treating you like a child, and since I am, at least theoretically, all grown up now, I would make a fuss and threaten to take my business elsewhere.

Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

I am neither a Doctor, nor any other kind of medical professional.

Actually you know, it is what it isn't.
11-06-2015 08:25 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
trish6hundred Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 6,446
Joined: May 2012

Machine: Resmed S9 AutoSet for Her
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Fisher & Paykel Simplus
Humidifier: H5i Heated Humidifier
CPAP Pressure: 10 - 7-20 Cm H2O
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments: I started CPAP in 2008. Totally blind since birth.

Sex: Female
Location: Missouri, USA

Post: #4
RE: PR DreamStation question
Hi Singsop,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Much success to you with your CPAP therapy.

trish6hundred
11-06-2015 08:55 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Singsop Offline

Members

Posts: 9
Joined: Oct 2015

Machine: DreamStation Auto CPAP
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: Dream Wear
Humidifier: Dream Station
CPAP Pressure: 7
CPAP Software: EncorePro

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: California, USA

Post: #5
RE: PR DreamStation question
I do have the provider manual and do get into the settings by pressing the ramp and the selector dial for a number of seconds.

That is why I am so puzzled by the grayed out items under therapy settings. There is no way I can see to change from CPAP to auto mode, and it definitely is an auto machine.

There is only one DME available to me through my insurance, otherwise I pay cash with virtually no reimbursement.

May have to wait and ask the MD about it in a couple of months when I see him. He is known for working with his patients, that is one reason I was willing to wait for an appointment to see him instead of my primary doc who originally ordered this. She was unwilling to do any more than just rotely order exactly what the study doc recommended.

I have made my living by reading and using technical manuals!
(This post was last modified: 11-06-2015 09:29 PM by Singsop.)
11-06-2015 09:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #6
RE: PR DreamStation question
(11-06-2015 09:27 PM)Singsop Wrote:  That is why I am so puzzled by the grayed out items under therapy settings. There is no way I can see to change from CPAP to auto mode, and it definitely is an auto machine.
Maybe, they done something to the SD card
Remove the SD card and checked it out ...
(This post was last modified: 11-07-2015 02:54 AM by zonk.)
11-07-2015 02:53 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zzzzuser Offline

Members

Posts: 4
Joined: Oct 2015

Machine: PR Dreamstation
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: PR Dreamwear
Humidifier: PR Dreamstation
CPAP Pressure: 7-12
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #7
RE: PR DreamStation question
I just got my Dreamstation today, and while in clinician mode I can change the mode to auto or cpap. Nothing is greyed out in my case.
11-07-2015 05:39 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
cate1898 Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 784
Joined: Aug 2015

Machine: PR System One 560BT Auto
Mask Type: Nasal pillows
Mask Make & Model: P10's/backup-DreamWear
Humidifier: PR attached
CPAP Pressure: 8.5 - 13. A-Flex 3
CPAP Software: SleepyHead

Other Comments: Began CPAP Therapy Sept. 11, 2015. Hx Hypertension, Post Graves Disease, chronic migraines.

Sex: Female
Location: Southern Ontario//SW Florida

Post: #8
RE: PR DreamStation question
Welcome to our little forum Singsop!!

I am wondering why this doctor only allows one DME? Kickbacks?

APNEABOARD - A great place to be if you're a hosehead!! Rolleyes

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
EVERY ACCOMPLISHMENT BEGINS WITH THE DECISION TO TRY!
11-07-2015 03:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Singsop Offline

Members

Posts: 9
Joined: Oct 2015

Machine: DreamStation Auto CPAP
Mask Type: Other
Mask Make & Model: Dream Wear
Humidifier: Dream Station
CPAP Pressure: 7
CPAP Software: EncorePro

Other Comments:

Sex: Female
Location: California, USA

Post: #9
RE: PR DreamStation question
(11-07-2015 03:56 PM)cate1898 Wrote:  Welcome to our little forum Singsop!!

I am wondering why this doctor only allows one DME? Kickbacks?

It is not the doctor, but the insurance that only has one DME for CPAP. Don't know why. Our firm is self-insured, and at least the DME is not one of the ones so often panned in the forums.
11-10-2015 12:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
esrepairman Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 22
Joined: Nov 2015

Machine: Phillips Respironics AUTO 60 series
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: Quattro Air
Humidifier: System One
CPAP Pressure: 16cm
CPAP Software: EncoreViewer Other Software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location:

Post: #10
RE: PR DreamStation question
(11-10-2015 12:40 AM)Singsop Wrote:  
(11-07-2015 03:56 PM)cate1898 Wrote:  Welcome to our little forum Singsop!!

I am wondering why this doctor only allows one DME? Kickbacks?

It is not the doctor, but the insurance that only has one DME for CPAP. Don't know why. Our firm is self-insured, and at least the DME is not one of the ones so often panned in the forums.

You have the right as a patient to choose any DME you choose. What insurance is that?
11-10-2015 07:28 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  [Equipment] Dreamstation auto off ??? johno02 15 759 11-27-2016 01:56 PM
Last Post: johno02
  AHI differs between DreamStation and AirsSense 10 JD007 11 649 11-20-2016 03:48 AM
Last Post: holden4th
  Reset Machine Hours DreamStation Perchas 1 215 11-17-2016 06:26 PM
Last Post: robysue
  My first night with DreamStation Auto Perchas 6 728 11-07-2016 02:51 PM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  My First Night with DreamStation mcsheltie 7 460 10-29-2016 10:39 AM
Last Post: robysue
  Sleepyhead and DreamStation mcsheltie 24 1,073 10-29-2016 09:59 AM
Last Post: AlanE
  Dreamstation heated tube/humidifier initial settings. NorthernGuy 9 731 10-28-2016 09:21 AM
Last Post: Perchas

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)