Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

PR DreamStation question
#1
I have been using my new DME-supplied auto Dream Station for two weeks now. When I go to look at the clinician menu, some things are grayed out, like mode. The snarky RRT said something about locking things down. Anyone know how to bypass her lock? I don't see anything in the clinician manual about such. Is she blowing smoke or am I missing something?

it is not a huge deal, but I am a geek about such things and like to look around. Especially once SleepyHead works for this machine!Thanks

Post Reply Post Reply
#2
Are you sure you have a clinicians manual? The Manual that comes with the machine is not a clinicians manual.

See top of this page....CPAP Setup Manuals....order through email.
OpalRose
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com

How to Organize and Post ScreenShots

http://sleep.tnet.com/resources/sleepyhead/shorganize
https://sleep.tnet.com/reference/tips/imgur

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.




Post Reply Post Reply
#3
According to the info on this page:

http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual

"Once the device is powered, press and hold both the control dial and the Ramp button on the device for at least 5 seconds. You are now in Provider Mode. To adjust a setting, rotate the control dial to your desired menu option, then press the control dial to select that setting. Rotate the control dial to change the setting. Press the control dial again to save the change. Select the "Home" icon to exit Provider Mode and return to Patient Mode"

I would not deal with a provider that wouldn't give me this information up front. Fortunately mine did and doesn't mind my adjusting the machine. Of course, you might not have had a choice, but I think a DME supplier that doesn't like you adjusting your own machine is treating you like a child, and since I am, at least theoretically, all grown up now, I would make a fuss and threaten to take my business elsewhere.
Ed Seedhouse
VA7SDH

Your brain is not the boss.

Post Reply Post Reply


#4
Hi Singsop,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Much success to you with your CPAP therapy.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
I do have the provider manual and do get into the settings by pressing the ramp and the selector dial for a number of seconds.

That is why I am so puzzled by the grayed out items under therapy settings. There is no way I can see to change from CPAP to auto mode, and it definitely is an auto machine.

There is only one DME available to me through my insurance, otherwise I pay cash with virtually no reimbursement.

May have to wait and ask the MD about it in a couple of months when I see him. He is known for working with his patients, that is one reason I was willing to wait for an appointment to see him instead of my primary doc who originally ordered this. She was unwilling to do any more than just rotely order exactly what the study doc recommended.

I have made my living by reading and using technical manuals!
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
(11-06-2015, 09:27 PM)Singsop Wrote: That is why I am so puzzled by the grayed out items under therapy settings. There is no way I can see to change from CPAP to auto mode, and it definitely is an auto machine.
Maybe, they done something to the SD card
Remove the SD card and checked it out ...

Post Reply Post Reply


#7
I just got my Dreamstation today, and while in clinician mode I can change the mode to auto or cpap. Nothing is greyed out in my case.

Post Reply Post Reply
#8
Welcome to our little forum Singsop!!

I am wondering why this doctor only allows one DME? Kickbacks?
APNEABOARD - A great place to be if you're a hosehead!! Rolleyes

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
EVERY ACCOMPLISHMENT BEGINS WITH THE DECISION TO TRY!
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
(11-07-2015, 03:56 PM)cate1898 Wrote: Welcome to our little forum Singsop!!

I am wondering why this doctor only allows one DME? Kickbacks?

It is not the doctor, but the insurance that only has one DME for CPAP. Don't know why. Our firm is self-insured, and at least the DME is not one of the ones so often panned in the forums.
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
(11-10-2015, 12:40 AM)Singsop Wrote:
(11-07-2015, 03:56 PM)cate1898 Wrote: Welcome to our little forum Singsop!!

I am wondering why this doctor only allows one DME? Kickbacks?

It is not the doctor, but the insurance that only has one DME for CPAP. Don't know why. Our firm is self-insured, and at least the DME is not one of the ones so often panned in the forums.

You have the right as a patient to choose any DME you choose. What insurance is that?
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  dreamstation go- auto start of ramp up? cbrts765 4 120 12-12-2017, 04:28 PM
Last Post: cbrts765
  using dreamstation go full time cbrts765 10 331 12-11-2017, 11:28 PM
Last Post: David Govan
  Is my dreamstation humidifier working? ghstudio 2 130 12-10-2017, 05:21 PM
Last Post: ghstudio
  Are AirSense and Dreamstation heated tubing interchangeable? doncaruana 2 121 12-10-2017, 05:16 PM
Last Post: Mosquitobait
  Dreamstation Go startup and data communication? dgnelsoni 2 103 12-09-2017, 08:52 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Noisy DreamStation BandMom 48 15,679 12-09-2017, 12:27 PM
Last Post: Walla Walla
  DC Converter for use with Dreamstation Auto BiPAP BiPAPman 5 136 12-08-2017, 10:33 AM
Last Post: BiPAPman

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.