Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Bipap vs Apap
Bipap vs Apap
I was wondering what the difference between Bipap which I use and Apap. I have been using Bipap for over 2 years and am very comfortable but wake up early in morning during Rem and am wondering is it because that's when my pressure is going up and that wakes me? Do any of you have that problem?
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Bipap vs Apap
While you're waiting for a guru to answer (being a newb, I'm not what you'd be looking for), you might get started by downloading SleepyHead, rousting up a SD card to put in your BiPAP, and begin recording data. Once you have a night or two, post your charts here (you'll see how under an Advisory Member's signature line).

You charts will give an idea about the interplay between pressure and arousals. Often with some fine tuning, sleep gets a whole lot better.
Post Reply Post Reply

• Philips Respironics DreamStation Auto CPAP Machine (DSX500x11) (Not all DreamStation Models, Check SN on bottom, bricks look the same) (Fixed CPAP, Auto CPAP) (best choice)

• Philips Respironics DreamStation CPAP Pro (DSX400x11) (Not all DreamStation Models, Check SN on bottom) (Fixed CPAP)

• Philips Respironics DreamStation BiPAP Pro (DSX600x11) (Not all DreamStation Models, Check SN on bottom) (Fixed CPAP, Fixed BiPAP)

• Philips Respironics DreamStation BiPAP Auto Machine (DSX700x11) (Not all DreamStation Models, Check SN on bottom) (Fixed CPAP, Fixed BiPAP, Auto BiPAP) (best choice)
There is ambiguity in your question.
APAP generally refers to Auto CPAP which has the modes Fixed CPAP and Auto CPAP Pressure range on CPAP is typically 4-20 cmw.