Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

PRESSURE UP WHEN RESP RATE LOW, BUT NOT ALWAYS
PRESSURE UP WHEN RESP RATE LOW, BUT NOT ALWAYS
Resmed ASV Airsense 10 PRESSURE GOES  UP WHEN RESP RATE is LOW, BUT NOT ALWAYS

There are cases early in sleep cycle where  pressure does go up to max, but resp rate  is not down.
Later in sleep cycle, pressure highs track resp rate lows closely.
Post Reply Post Reply
RE: PRESSURE UP WHEN RESP RATE LOW, BUT NOT ALWAYS
I think you need to post some data charts to see what is going on.
It should not max out unless it is reaching the pressure it is set to as a max i.e. 15, but if it is going to the max pressure the machine is capable of, something is not right.
I am NOT a doctor.  I try to help, but do not take what I say as medical advice.

Every journey, however large or small starts with the first step.

Sleep-well
Post Reply Post Reply
(02-07-2018, 02:17 PM)villiewe Wrote: Resmed ASV Airsense 10 PRESSURE GOES  UP WHEN RESP RATE is LOW, BUT NOT ALWAYS

There are cases early in sleep cycle where  pressure does go up to max, but resp rate  is not down.
Later in sleep cycle, pressure highs track resp rate lows closely.

Sounds like possible mask leaks to me, which cause the machine to track higher to try to chase them. You need to post some charts.
Post Reply Post Reply
Let me approach the question another way:

I have tried holding my breath for a long time while I am awake but I do not get the pressure increase that I would expect.

The doctor tells me that this is because the machine calculates an algorithm over several minutes so that i cannot affect the machine by holding my breath!

Does that make sense?
Post Reply Post Reply
..oops, misread which machine you were using
Post Reply Post Reply