Post Reply 
PRS1 Pro with heated tube
Author Message
cam Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 30
Joined: Jan 2013

Machine: Philips Pro Respironics System One with Heated Tube
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips comfort gel
Humidifier: integrated
CPAP Pressure: 9
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Port Credit, Ontario

Post: #1
PRS1 Pro with heated tube
Hello All.
I see on the TEXT menu on page 10 of the instruction manual that there should be a MASK Pressure setting on the drop down SET UP menu but I don't seem to have it listed.
I am using the Philips blue comfort gel nasal mask. Why is it not indicating this feature?
03-28-2013 08:56 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #2
RE: PRS1 Pro with heated tube
I'm a little confused here. You've titled the thread PRS1 Pro, yet your profile lists your machine as Fisher Paykel.

Either way, my guess is that the provider has disabled it. You would have to go into the clinician's set up menu to make sure the choice of mask is enabled.

It's probably already been set by your provider for your mask type and they didn't want you fooling with the setting so they disabled it.

It doesn't really matter because the choice of mask has only a small effect on the pressure.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-28-2013 09:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
zonk Offline

Advisory Members

Posts: 7,908
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: A10 AutoSet
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Activa LT
Humidifier: Integrated /ClimateLineAir
CPAP Pressure: 9/13
CPAP Software: ResScan

Other Comments: CPAP since Nov 2010

Sex: Male
Location: Australia

Post: #3
RE: PRS1 Pro with heated tube
The mask pressure setting (System One Resistance Control) is for PR System One machines using Respironcis masks otherwise its not applicable

Edit: PRS1 manual
SYSTEM ONE resistance ( ) - This setting allows you to adjust the level of air pressure relief based on the specific Philips Respironics mask. Each Philips Respironics mask may have a “System One” resistance control setting. System One resistance compensation can be turned off by choosing the setting “0”.
Note: The patient also has access to this setting, if Lock SYSTEM ONE is off.
(This post was last modified: 03-28-2013 09:16 PM by zonk.)
03-28-2013 09:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
cam Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 30
Joined: Jan 2013

Machine: Philips Pro Respironics System One with Heated Tube
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips comfort gel
Humidifier: integrated
CPAP Pressure: 9
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Port Credit, Ontario

Post: #4
RE: PRS1 Pro with heated tube
(03-28-2013 09:01 PM)Sleepster Wrote:  I'm a little confused here. You've titled the thread PRS1 Pro, yet your profile lists your machine as Fisher Paykel.

Either way, my guess is that the provider has disabled it. You would have to go into the clinician's set up menu to make sure the choice of mask is enabled.

It's probably already been set by your provider for your mask type and they didn't want you fooling with the setting so they disabled it.

It doesn't really matter because the choice of mask has only a small effect on the pressure.

Hi...Sorry for the confusion. I was using the Fisher Paykel for the past 5 years but my medical coverage permitted a new machine now. Long story short...the sleepcare provider was not selling Philips products and I tried the Resmed S9 which they suggested but did not like it.
They special ordered the PRS1 for me but admittedly were not familiar with the operation but I thought I researched enough about it to set it up. When I got it home, I noticed it was set in International 'Graphic' mode as opposed to english 'Text' mode. Philips was able to help me convert to Text but that was about all they could help me with due to U.S. legislation etc. etc.
03-29-2013 07:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #5
RE: PRS1 Pro with heated tube
You'll have to get the clinician's manual from Apnea Board and figure it out without their help, since they seem to be of no help. Your PRS1 machine is one generation newer than mine, so the menu system probably works about the same. You rotate the dial until you get to the "Setup" quadrant, then push down on the dial and the ramp button at the same time. Wait a few seconds and you'll be in the secret set up menu where you can then set things up the way you want them.

Just don't adjust the pressure yet. You want to look at several days, if not weeks, of data before tweaking that. Every other adjustment is either for comfort or for information. If you change the System One Resistance (mask type) be aware that that will change the pressure, but by only a very small amount.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-29-2013 10:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
cam Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 30
Joined: Jan 2013

Machine: Philips Pro Respironics System One with Heated Tube
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips comfort gel
Humidifier: integrated
CPAP Pressure: 9
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Port Credit, Ontario

Post: #6
RE: PRS1 Pro with heated tube
(03-29-2013 10:09 PM)Sleepster Wrote:  You'll have to get the clinician's manual from Apnea Board and figure it out without their help, since they seem to be of no help. Your PRS1 machine is one generation newer than mine, so the menu system probably works about the same. You rotate the dial until you get to the "Setup" quadrant, then push down on the dial and the ramp button at the same time. Wait a few seconds and you'll be in the secret set up menu where you can then set things up the way you want them.

Just don't adjust the pressure yet. You want to look at several days, if not weeks, of data before tweaking that. Every other adjustment is either for comfort or for information. If you change the System One Resistance (mask type) be aware that that will change the pressure, but by only a very small amount.

Thanks. I know about the programming but everything seems to be just fine at the moment with the prescribed pressure. I was just wondering about this Mask Pressure thingamajiggie.
03-30-2013 01:14 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #7
RE: PRS1 Pro with heated tube
If there's supposed to be an item listed in the Setup menu, and it's not there, that's an indication that it's been disabled by the provider so that the patient can't change it. To fix that go into the clinician's Setup menu and enable it so that the patient (you) can change it or at least make sure it's set to the correct mask type. Setting the mask type probably only makes a small change to the prescribed pressure, but it may also affect how the machine reports the unintentional leak rate.

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-30-2013 09:28 AM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
cam Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 30
Joined: Jan 2013

Machine: Philips Pro Respironics System One with Heated Tube
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips comfort gel
Humidifier: integrated
CPAP Pressure: 9
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Port Credit, Ontario

Post: #8
RE: PRS1 Pro with heated tube
(03-30-2013 09:28 AM)Sleepster Wrote:  If there's supposed to be an item listed in the Setup menu, and it's not there, that's an indication that it's been disabled by the provider so that the patient can't change it. To fix that go into the clinician's Setup menu and enable it so that the patient (you) can change it or at least make sure it's set to the correct mask type. Setting the mask type probably only makes a small change to the prescribed pressure, but it may also affect how the machine reports the unintentional leak rate.

Thanks ....
By any chance, do you know what the Philips Comfort Gel mask setting would be? Or where would I find out please?
Thanks again.
Cam
03-30-2013 06:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Sleepster Offline
Wiki Editor
Moderators

Posts: 4,995
Joined: Feb 2012

Machine: ResMed AirCurve10 VAuto
Mask Type: Full face mask
Mask Make & Model: F&P Simplus
Humidifier: HumidAir and SlimLine Hose
CPAP Pressure: MaxI 13.6 | MinE 5.2 | PS 4.4
CPAP Software: ResScan SleepyHead

Other Comments: Diagnosed Nov 2011. Conquered aerophagia.

Sex: Male
Location: Houston, Texas

Post: #9
RE: PRS1 Pro with heated tube
(03-30-2013 06:28 PM)cam Wrote:  By any chance, do you know what the Philips Comfort Gel mask setting would be? Or where would I find out please?

It looks like it's X1.

http://www.healthcare.philips.com/pwc_hc...ontrol.pdf

Sleepster
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
03-30-2013 07:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply

Donate to Apnea Board
cam Offline

Preferred Members

Posts: 30
Joined: Jan 2013

Machine: Philips Pro Respironics System One with Heated Tube
Mask Type: Nasal mask
Mask Make & Model: Philips comfort gel
Humidifier: integrated
CPAP Pressure: 9
CPAP Software: Not using software

Other Comments:

Sex: Male
Location: Port Credit, Ontario

Post: #10
RE: PRS1 Pro with heated tube
(03-30-2013 06:28 PM)cam Wrote:  
(03-30-2013 09:28 AM)Sleepster Wrote:  If there's supposed to be an item listed in the Setup menu, and it's not there, that's an indication that it's been disabled by the provider so that the patient can't change it. To fix that go into the clinician's Setup menu and enable it so that the patient (you) can change it or at least make sure it's set to the correct mask type. Setting the mask type probably only makes a small change to the prescribed pressure, but it may also affect how the machine reports the unintentional leak rate.

Thanks ....
By any chance, do you know what the Philips Comfort Gel mask setting would be? Or where would I find out please?
Thanks again.
Cam

Found it....
Here's the link for others

http://www.healthcare.philips.com/pwc_hc...ontrol.pdf
03-30-2013 07:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Post Reply Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  How to clean a heated h Sleepyv 5 262 12-01-2016 09:00 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Cleaning Climate-control tube on ResMed Air Sense 10 GL Bishop 18 11,364 11-07-2016 03:31 PM
Last Post: Jonesie
  How frequently do you buy new mask/tube/etc? Josho 8 578 11-02-2016 06:33 PM
Last Post: Mosquitobait
  Heated hose check ST1300 7 593 10-30-2016 09:15 AM
Last Post: Sleeprider
  Dreamstation heated tube/humidifier initial settings. NorthernGuy 9 757 10-28-2016 09:21 AM
Last Post: Perchas
  Dreamstation heated hose vs hose cover vs plain hose NorthernGuy 5 380 10-19-2016 07:23 PM
Last Post: johno02
  Question about cleaning/drying air tube RB73 16 1,091 09-25-2016 02:46 PM
Last Post: hegel

Forum Jump:

Who's Online (Complete List)