Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Philips Dreamstation or Airsense 10 CPAP machine
#11
For me, the DreamStation is more comfortable than the A10. Try them both, if you can.
Just my personal opinion. My posts are not medical advice or a statement of fact. Please consult a qualified physician or other qualified medical personnel. Please comply with all applicable laws, codes, regulations, and protocols.
Post Reply Post Reply
#12
Hi stephennic,
WELCOME! to the forum.!
Good luck to you on your machine decision and much success to you as you start your CPAP journey.
trish6hundred
Post Reply Post Reply
#13
Hi,
Rented a Airsense 10 , tried it last night no noise which is great however the exhale I found harder than the old 50 series machine. I found it not as easy to breath, I need to feel it smooth and natural to breath. Can you adjust the setting for exhale pressure for a fixed machine, even though I have rented a auto machine. Also it was set at 9cm straight away with no RAMP put on so no prep before sleep. What should I do, rent a dreamstation? The goodnews I had 5.6 per hour which is much better than around 50 when I sleep on my back and 25 on my side.
Cheers
Steve
Post Reply Post Reply


#14
Resmed machines have a function called EPR (expiratory pressure relief). This drops the pressure by up to 3 cm H2O on exhale. This is a user setting, so have a look in the manual to see how to set it. Note that it has to be enabled by the provider in order for you to set it, so check that it's actually enabled on your machine. Respironics have a similar system called "flex".

Likewise, the ramp is a user setting, but may have been disabled by the provider. Have a look in the user manual to confirm that both ramp and EPR are enabled. If not, you can go into the clinician menu and enable them yourself, but as this is a hire machine I don't recommend doing that (talk to your supplier).
DeepBreathing
Apnea Board Moderator
www.ApneaBoard.com


Bed

INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#15
I'd try out a DreamStation. I'd configure it as APAP (8cm min, 14cm max) and set C-Flex = 3. You can always set it back to fixed mode when you turn it in.
Just my personal opinion. My posts are not medical advice or a statement of fact. Please consult a qualified physician or other qualified medical personnel. Please comply with all applicable laws, codes, regulations, and protocols.
Post Reply Post Reply
#16
(06-25-2016, 11:13 PM)sdb7802 Wrote: I'd try out a DreamStation. I'd configure it as APAP (8cm min, 14cm max) and set C-Flex = 3. You can always set it back to fixed mode when you turn it in.

Thanks, I will try both machines now, got appointment tomorrow to try out both. I will try the Airsence again tonight.
Cheers
Steve
Post Reply Post Reply


#17
Have they updated the software on the dreamstation now, I read back In December it was very limited.
Cheers
Steve.
Post Reply Post Reply
#18
Software on the DreamStation? Do you mean SleepyHead support of the DreamStation data files? SleepyHead has not connection to the machine manufacturers. SleepyHead does support the DreamStation data now.
Post Reply Post Reply
#19
(06-26-2016, 08:55 AM)stephennic Wrote: Have they updated the software on the dreamstation now, I read back In December it was very limited.
Cheers
Steve.

Don't know if it's been updated.

The two issues that seem to annoy users are:

1.) display backlight too bright and stays on too long if you shut her down for a bathroom break.

2.) bluetooth flaky. Requires frequent reset. (I don't use it; I use a wifi sd card.)

Neither issue really bothers me.
Just my personal opinion. My posts are not medical advice or a statement of fact. Please consult a qualified physician or other qualified medical personnel. Please comply with all applicable laws, codes, regulations, and protocols.
Post Reply Post Reply


#20
One thing that I did not see mentioned is the size of the two devices. The footprint of the DreamStation with the humidifier attached is much larger than the AirSense 10 (w/o the humidifier about the same size). When I saw them side by side at a brick and mortar store here in the Houston area, that difference alone made it an easy call. The DreamStation's footprint is at least 2x the AirSence 10. Check your available nightstand space.
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  My new Dreamstation E.W. 1 58 17 minutes ago
Last Post: Beej
  Anyone else have Sleep Drs that're only CPAP machine mills? TurdFerguson8675 15 372 4 hours ago
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Noise level of Respironics Dreamstation vs Resmed Airsense 10 scottlink96 34 5,888 6 hours ago
Last Post: keys
  Noisy DreamStation BandMom 14 7,800 6 hours ago
Last Post: chill
  How long can prescription for CPAP machine be? Dreams of Green 10 499 02-13-2017, 08:06 AM
Last Post: Sleepster
  [Equipment] Do I have a choice on which CPAP machine I get? dfluss 10 384 02-09-2017, 12:55 AM
Last Post: Ghost1958
  [CPAP] I miss placed my chord for my CPAP machine and I tried a computer supply chord and th Ac3512000 3 280 02-05-2017, 11:18 PM
Last Post: PaulaO2

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.