Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Philips Respironics DreamStation check power
#1
Philips Respironics DreamStation check power
I have a Philips Respironics DreamStation which has worked well for about 2 years now. On Friday 06 Nov 2020 I switched on and it displayed the usual  Opening Image then Menu Icons on the Screen but after a few seconds a larger Icon appeared "check power" with the image of a Power Brick (PSU) appeared but nothing worked although the Screen remained on for a while and the On/Off switch symbol flashed on and off.  I tried unplugging the PSU, leaving it for a few hours then plugged it back in but it went through the same boot up process and displayed "check power" again and would do nothing.

I then checked the Power Brick with a DVM and it showed 12.25 VDC off load.  I then tried a Laptop PSU of my own with the correct type of plug but with the same result.

Is this fault truly related to the Power Brick that came with the DreamStation in which case I can afford to buy a replacement or is it an internal fault on the Printed Circuit Board, a faulty Sensor, a non functional Internal Battery, the Internal Blower failing or whatever? I am an Electronics Technician so I understand Circuitry etc but I have not opened the Unit.  I have downloaded the User Manual but is there a Servicing and Repair Manual for this CPAP Unit? If this failure message is spurious is there a way to Reboot the Unit or Force a Boot up as is possible with many Computers and Electronic Equipment?

I'm  rather new here so if this post is on the wrong Forum please advise me and I will cut and paste it to the correct one.

Thanks in advance.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#2
RE: Philips Respironics DreamStation check power
There are Service Manuals for the DreamStation in the Private Files and Links Forum.
Good luck... hope that helps!
OpalRose
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com

OSCAR Chart Organization


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE.  ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA.  INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
RE: Philips Respironics DreamStation check power
Thanks. I'll look there.
Post Reply Post Reply
#4
RE: Philips Respironics DreamStation check power
My situation is a mirror of yours, including when you started cpaping except i left my machine on with power supply error message and about 6 hours i got a message that now says "the attached power supply does not support humidification" and appears to run, i have not tried it with water yet.  i appreciate all the work you are doing on this issue.  my machine worked fine until last night when i reset it up after a 1000 mile trip from my sisters house, i guess the power supply had a rough journey.  Looks like it could be a power supply issue which is kinda surprising, have worked with hundreds of electronics and bad power supply is unusual to me.
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  
#5
RE: Philips Respironics DreamStation check power
Depending on the length of time you've owned the PAP, it may be that the issue is covered under warranty. I'd follow up with the DME supplier you got this from.
Dave

OSCAR
Standard OSCAR Chart Order
Mask Primer
Dealing With A DME
Soft Cervical Collar Wiki
INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEBSITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
RE: Philips Respironics DreamStation check power
Working with KPs contract support vendor we have apparently resolved my lssue. It appears the issue was due some issue with the heated hose, perhaps not completely engaged in coupling or ?, but replacing the hose with my spare fixed the problem and going back to the original heated hose, it is still working.
Post Reply Post Reply
#7
RE: Philips Respironics DreamStation check power
I am also a Electronics Service and Calibration Technician. I tested the Power Brick PSU with a good DVM an the voltage seem to be correct. However that was off load so I obtained another brand new PSU and alas the same error Message. "Check Power". So it is either a faulty component on a PCB, a damaged Sensor, or a Software/Firmware related fault. Is there either Global Reset to Default Settings command or a way to force a boot up ignoring the Error Message?
Post Reply Post Reply






Donate to Apnea Board  


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [Equipment] Has Your Philips Dreamstation Humidifier Lid Latch Failed? FLsleeper7 27 4,425 03-04-2021, 11:37 AM
Last Post: thehwb
  Please check my stats to assist with better sleep u4ea 6 148 02-16-2021, 09:38 PM
Last Post: u4ea
  Respironics remstar Pro c-flex system one card won't download staduimjunkie 7 220 01-25-2021, 04:50 PM
Last Post: sheepless
  philips system one series 60 to resmed aircurve asv Easylistener 17 377 01-20-2021, 05:52 PM
Last Post: SarcasticDave94
  Internal Power Connector AirSense 10 terrycts 14 461 01-16-2021, 01:53 PM
Last Post: Crimson Nape
  Respironics Dreamstation - noisy motor? bernie01 31 13,601 12-22-2020, 07:02 AM
Last Post: tsolanto
  Frankenmask - P30i + Philips Respironics Headgear with Arms DenverAPAP 17 792 12-08-2020, 01:54 PM
Last Post: DaveL


New Posts   Today's Posts






About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.