Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Philips-Respironics REMstar SE Setup Menu instructions
#1
Information 
~ Philips-Respironics Series 60 REMstar SE Setup Instructions ~


[Image: PR-REMstar-SE.jpg]


A thoughtful Apnea Board member (Greggers In Toronto) posted the following instructions for entering the Setup Menu of the Philips-Respironics REMstar SE CPAP machine [pictured above]:



Remove the adapter power cord from the back of the machine, wait a couple of seconds, then plug it back in. The unit should power up.

Press the power on button, let the unit blow for a couple seconds, then press the power button again. The blower will shut off.

Press the farthermost button on the left (the Ramp button) and the left-arrow button right beside it, simultaneously, and hold them both down (around 5 seconds) until P-1 shows up on the display. This will indicate you are in the Setup Mode.

At this point, you will be allowed to cycle through the setup menu. As you depress either the left or right arrow key, you will land on several icons on the display that indicate which setting you can adjust. You want to get to the cm H2O icon. Depress either left or right until you reach that icon.

Press the power button once, and your pressure setting will blink. You may then use the left or right buttons to change your pressure setting.

When you are done, simply press Ramp and the left-arrow button simultaneously, and hold until P-0 flashes briefly. You are then back in the standard operating mode.

Please note that the left and right arrow keys may stick. You must be SURE you are pressing the left-arrow key independently. I found this was easiest to achieve by using my index finger to depress the Ramp button, and my pointer finger to depress the leftmost edge of the left-arrow button.

I hope this helps others.


(info edited for clarity)


SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.



Post Reply Post Reply
#2
I thank God that I found this website! The instructions for the Remstar SE really helped - there is however one step missing. Just at the end after you set your pressure, you have to hit the right arrow button one time, then you can hold the left two buttons to get P-0. By trial and error I figured that out.

Post Reply Post Reply
#3
AWESOME!!! Costumer Service is getting terrible! My machine was back to the shop 3 times. They wouldn't believe me when I told them the heater would not work. Finally its sent to the factory and replaced with another one. I cant say if it was new or not. I set the machine up to go to bed and it has not been set up! I call Respironics and no help!! They will not help me I have to bring it to the Medical Supply Office. I am leaving at 0600 the next morning to work out of state. I found the Apnea Board. You saved my day showing me how to set up my machine!!!!!
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
yay team!
QAL
Dedicated to QALity sleep.
You'll note I am listed as an Advisory Member. I am honored to be listed as such. See the fine print - Advisory Members as a group provide advice and suggestions to Apnea Board administrators and staff concerning Apnea Board operation and administrative policies. Membership in the Advisory Member group should not be understood as in any way implying medical expertise or qualification for advising Sleep Apnea patients concerning their treatment.
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
As added info, we also have the Clinician Manual for the 60-Series Philips-Respironics REMstar SE. You can obtain it via email by following the directions in Section Three of this page:

http://www.apneaboard.com/adjust-cpap-pr...tup-manual
SuperSleeper
Apnea Board Administrator
www.ApneaBoard.com


INFORMATION ON APNEA BOARD FORUMS OR ON APNEABOARD.COM SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS MEDICAL ADVICE. ALWAYS SEEK THE ADVICE OF A PHYSICIAN BEFORE SEEKING TREATMENT FOR MEDICAL CONDITIONS, INCLUDING SLEEP APNEA. INFORMATION POSTED ON THE APNEA BOARD WEB SITE AND FORUMS ARE PERSONAL OPINION ONLY AND NOT NECESSARILY A STATEMENT OF FACT.



Post Reply Post Reply
#6
Trying to find a setup menu for this unit, is how I came to discover this great forum.

This was my first purchase in getting some much needed help for my wife with her severe OSA.

It was then that I discovered that the machine will only record and keep track of hours of use. It will only record that, and nothing else. Even if you can set your own high/low pressures, you will have no data to consult for best settings, when using this one.

I upgraded immediately to the 60 series that she has and uses now, and using the Sleepyhead SW, her nightly events have dropped from the 50's - 60's, down to currently pretty consistent 2's and 3's.

Thanks again to this forum, and all the wonderful help and advise that good folks here, are quick to extend.

FLc
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
Thumbsup 
Thank you so much. I just got a machine via my poor-person's govt medical insurance, after having to bring my mother into the office with me to verify that I snore. Nobody wants to refer anyone out to a specialist. Anyway, I got a Resmed SE that has a big sticker saying "Property of XYZ SleepMed Company" on it, and it has a modem antenna on it to verify that I'm using it. So I was a bit scared to change the settings once I knew how.

I was told I would have to call the sleep MD office, get an appointment, convince them why I need to have the cm raised, and then wait for him to contact the company who provided it. And has "all control" over it, I guess.

I was able to raise my pressure a little without having to go through all that time-wasting (and govt money wasting) ridiculousness.

I have asthma, and if it kicks in a little while I'm sleeping, maybe due to the humidifier going on and off, I need to breathe in more sharply and the air needs to move faster. So far, I've been sleeping 12 hours at a time and waking up super groggy. I am so glad to be able to make this change immediately and not wait a week while I lie down with a suffocating sensation.

Now to call the company and discuss this glitchy humidifier. Thank you again!
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  [Equipment] REMstar Pro C-Flex+ service required message Sultec 6 254 Yesterday, 01:56 PM
Last Post: Sultec
  [CPAP] cleaning an old Respironics REMStarPlus with mildew in it cstrouss 4 141 07-15-2017, 06:43 PM
Last Post: cstrouss
  Respironics DreamStation plugin Module?? racprops 4 143 07-14-2017, 11:16 AM
Last Post: ateeluck
  respironics dreamstation dsx700 1volinalabama 2 164 07-09-2017, 03:35 PM
Last Post: trish6hundred
  Skinny equivalent Philips Wisp? okieman 6 184 07-03-2017, 04:16 PM
Last Post: okieman
  Respironics algorithm jallain 9 418 06-30-2017, 08:17 AM
Last Post: jerrydaw
  Battery setup Jrw1 13 481 06-27-2017, 08:49 AM
Last Post: Jrw1

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.