Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

New to CPAP, Events all Over the Place
New to CPAP, Events all Over the Place
Hi Everyone. Hoping somebody can help me out as I'm totally new to all of this. I've only been using my machine for a few weeks and have been struggling to sleep with it for more than 2-3 hours at a time. When I do sleep my AHI is all over the place and very high some nights. Also, events are mostly central, hypopnea, and RERA.  

A little background. I had GI bug and bad flu (I think it was the flu...) back-to-back in February. Soon after I started having this strange sensation when falling asleep that I would "forget to breathe" and it would happen over and over. Then I had an episode of Atrial Fibrillation (have them every few years) in April which sent me to the ER. Finally visited sleep doc and he had me do an at home test, the results of which are below:

The study was performed with a Nox T3 home sleep apnea test device recording nasal air flow, oxygen saturation, heart rate, snoring, thoracic effort, abdominal effort and position. Hypopneas were scored with a 3% oxygen desaturation criterion. The entirety of this study was reviewed by this interpreter including raw data.

Hypopneas were scored with a 4% oxygen desaturation criterion. Following the study the patient reported that he fell asleep in 15 minutes and that he slept6 hours. He reported sleep quality was fair.