Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account


New Posts   Today's Posts

Please help. SleepyHead quit its reliable display and summary of SpO2 data.
#1
From 12/2015 through 5/2017 SH flawlessly presented SpO2 data and summaries. Right after a (major?) W10 automatic maintenance update, ca 6/1/17, SH would not open. I'm reasonably sure that until the failure I was using SH's "Broken GL" version. I got a tip from the forum, but did not succeed in solving the problem. Without success I did the necessary uninstalls before reinstalling the Broken version and then installing the Beta version (the latter vsn ID is noted at the top of the SH graphic below). (It seems I had to or did install some Windows C++ along my stumbling way, too.)

Though irrelevant, but as backdrop for the SpO2 displays, I present certain of the SH graphics and its data summary for sleep the night of 8/10-11 (another of the increasing instances of "double aught" sleeps--zeroes for both AHI and leaks--thanks to applying general and specific reply helps from the Forum and its moderators after terrible PAP beginnings.)

SH's presentation is from the same O2 data as were handled by the SpO2 Assistant software as seen farther below. The SH disparity is typical after ca 6/1/17. SH pulse rate and O2 saturation graphs are truncated (compressed?) and they display a spurious repeating pattern that recurs in lower and lower frequencies. The SH perfusion index graphs, strangely and typically, repeat at basically one frequency.

Sorry to leave this where you have to see the imgur screen for the two images. I couldn't follow directions properly to use the image posting techniques employing the ""or Quick Reply methods.

Many thanks for reading and any help you can offer.

2SB

PS
I will be looking beyond low AHI's after recently seeing Dr. Krakow's points regarding lower level breathing limitations that don't register as apneic events in SH or ResScan.


http://imgur.com/a/5zsh9
Post Reply Post Reply
#2
(08-12-2017, 03:03 AM)2SleepBetta Wrote: Sorry to leave this where you have to see the imgur screen for the two images. I couldn't follow directions properly to use the image posting techniques employing the ""or Quick Reply methods.
That sentence should end "...employing the '' or Quick Reply methods."
My attempts in doing some editing were deleting good text as I tried to do insertions, no matter what I did with the INSERT key and I didn't see the error.
Post Reply Post Reply
#3
Uh Oh! My "correction"dug the blunder hole deeper. Missed in reviewing the original and "corrected" version of the sentence, I think now that my content typed the 1st time between double quotation marks, " ", and the 2nd time betweensingle quotation marks, '  ', all disappeared because of the proper rendering of my violation of HTML or PHP coding tag rules for presenting images.

The [ i m g] / [ / i m g ] sequence, which I used (without the extra spaces) between the pairs of quotation marks would disappear if an image were called up appropriately by the content between the two image tags. Sorry for the repeated and confusing blunders.

Wishing I had noticed the error in Preview of the posts and agreeing with others the option to edit a posted item would be great. Sorry for confusion.

Another Uh Oh, but too lazy to fix it. "betweensingle" above should be "between single" but if I try to insert the space that will delete the "s" in single. Something strange about this page or my laptop's INSERT key. Dont-know

(I came back to this page to see how I botched the overall original post and would explain the lack of response...only to see the repeated error. Thinking-about )
Post Reply Post Reply


#4
I'm pretty sure SH was written in Java or at least has a Java front end. I have no experience with Windows 10, I'm a Mac user and only run Windows 7 in a virtual machine, and have avoided upgrading to Windows 10.

I would suggest you see what version of the Java Runtime Engine (JRE) is and evaluate whether it needs updating or fixing. That would be my best guess as to what the actual problem is. SH may be assuming an older version of the JRE and if the Windows update replaced it with a newer version, that might have triggered the issue.

You're sure the SH version you're using is the current one?
Post Reply Post Reply
#5
(08-13-2017, 10:43 AM)Dawnstar Wrote: I'm pretty sure SH was written in Java .  .  .

SleepyHead is written in C++, using opensource qt (pronounced "cute") as its development platform.  I hope this may help.
______________________
Useful Links -or- When All Else Fails:
Posting SleepyHead Charts in 5 Easy Steps
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
Apnea Helpful Tips
Post Reply Post Reply
#6
I think some other people have reported similar problems with oximetry data when using the new 1.0.0-beta. Unfortunately I don't know if the older 0.9.8 version will run with the new Windows 10. Also, the roll-back of the data is not possible unless you made a backup when you upgraded.

I have a CMS-50F myself, so I will try to duplicate the problem(s) I have seen reported. I may or may not be able to fix them.
Post Reply Post Reply


#7
I'm aware of Qt, that would have been my second guess.

Good to know.
Post Reply Post Reply
#8
(08-12-2017, 03:03 AM)2SleepBetta Wrote: .  .  .  Right after a (major?) W10 automatic maintenance update, ca 6/1/17, SH would not open. I'm reasonably sure that until the failure I was using SH's "Broken GL" version. I got a tip from the forum, but did not succeed in solving the problem. Without success I did the necessary uninstalls before reinstalling the Broken version and then installing the Beta version (the latter vsn ID is noted at the top of the SH graphic below). (It seems I had to or did install some Windows C++ along my stumbling way, too.)

You might try this procedure.  It seems to work with ResScan:
Steps:
  1. Windows Key+"R"
  2. Type: appwiz.cpl -> ENTER
  3. Select Turn Widows features on or off (Upper Left of Screen)
  4. Change the "dot" to a "check mark" (select all options) on the the first 2 options:
    This is performed by fully expanding each category and selecting any box not checked.
    • .NET Framework 3.5(includes .NET Framework 2.0 and 3.0)
    • .NET Framework 4.7 Advanced Services
  5. Select OK
  6. Exit the wizapp.cpl
  7. Reboot
  8. Try SleepyHead
______________________
Useful Links -or- When All Else Fails:
Posting SleepyHead Charts in 5 Easy Steps
Robysue's Beginner's Guide to Sleepyhead
Apnea Helpful Tips
Post Reply Post Reply
#9
Many thanks for responses and suggestions Dawnstar, Crimson Nape and pholynyk. Now to get to work applying the approaches suggested.

Regarding ResScan, I've not seen any departure from its consistent performance as I approach 2 years of usage. Nevertheless, I will see what can be done with the approach that has worked for it.

The question for me now is the order in which to proceed. Maybe start with seeing if that  0.9.8 version (mentioned above) is the same as the Broken GL version I was using and revert to it if so.

A novice, I have a lot of homework to do to even learn how to determine, let alone change the version of Java (if that is possible for W10).

Again, I appreciate your helps.

2SB
Post Reply Post Reply


#10
.net and or Java have nothing to do with SleepyHead (as in absolutely nothing!)
if in doubt and you feel the need for the VC++ runtimes - make sure that you install the 32-bit files of the 2013-version as well! (yes! 32 bit - Yes 2013!)

0.9.8.1 works on the creators update of W10.

What works for some with SH 1.0.0 Beta 2: import with the SPO2-Assistant from the device - copy that file to a location on your drive where you store your "normal" documents (like: "your documents" or so)

Let SH import that file from there - should work.


(A side-note on the VC++ redistributables / runtimes: newer is not always better - they are released in line and according to the Visual Studio versions (that is what the programs are build with) - programs build with VS 2013 will need the runtimes for 2013 - 2017 is not really helping there! - If you have a 32-bit program (like SleepyHead) you will need the 32-bit runtimes - no matter if you have a 64-bit system or not!)
Post Reply Post Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  What do the PS numbers on the Sleepyhead display mean? sirto 2 72 08-15-2017, 11:02 PM
Last Post: sirto
  How to reset oximeter events (pulse, spo2) fizassist 2 88 08-09-2017, 10:11 PM
Last Post: fizassist
  SleepyHead Graph display problem Joe Fox 14 695 08-05-2017, 08:14 AM
Last Post: Dreamless
  SleepyHead data Gazza59 2 130 08-04-2017, 12:34 AM
Last Post: Gazza59
  Can't Load Current Data onto Sleepyhead Jasperini 3 186 07-29-2017, 07:02 PM
Last Post: ajack
Idea CMS50D+ Add date and time to SPO2 file adrinef 4 554 07-27-2017, 09:23 AM
Last Post: adrinef
  How to Send JediMark data to update SleepyHead? timfrost 3 268 07-15-2017, 06:15 PM
Last Post: AlanE

Forum Jump:

New Posts   Today's Posts




About Apnea Board

Apnea Board is an educational web site designed to empower Sleep Apnea patients.

For any more information, please use our contact form.