Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Clear airways on my OSCAR report
Clear airways on my OSCAR report
I am relatively new to CPAP and have been really struggling with it. I only recently found a mask that allowed me to sleep through the night but I still feel tired in the morning no matter how much I sleep. When I looked at my OSCAR reports they have varying amounts of clear airways on my report. My AHI is almost never below five. Any advice you can give on what steps I should take next would be greatly appreciated.

I included two nights of my OSCAR reports and my sleep study since I always see them being asked for.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Clear airways on my OSCAR report
Your diagnostic study shows you have predominately central apnea. The diagnosis of "pathological breathing disorder" is remarkable for not committing to obstructive or central apnea. Your AHI is still not below 5 per hour and everything is central, so I think we can conclude that the doctor prescribed CPAP with hopes that you would be treated adequately. This is a normal approach, and one that is actually required by insurance which will not reimburse for advanced positive air pressure devices until the patient fails CPAP. You have what is properly diagnosed as idiopathic central or complex sleep disordered breathing. I doubt you will achieve efficacy with CPAP or even bilevel (BiPAP). During this time you are demonstrating a commitment to use your equipment (compliance), and your doctor is evaluating the effectiveness of treatment, and probably has a follow-up scheduled.