Hello Guest, Welcome to Apnea Board !
As a guest, you are limited to certain areas of the board and there are some features you can't use.
To post a message, you must create a free account using a valid email address.

or Create an Account

Positional Apnea Problems
Positional Apnea Problems
I've been using CPAP for 20 years and have felt very tired for the past 6 months.  I have an Airsense 10, min 10, max 20.  I tried the tennis ball thing, but that didn't work.  I seem to have trouble when I'm on my back and sometimes on my side.  I tried a 2.5in soft cervical collar.  Last night I tried a sleep noodle.  That kept me on my side, line between shoulders vertical, much of the night.  The results were not encouraging.  My flow limit was 0.26 with all sorts of events.  In my doctor's visit yesterday, all he had to say was lose weight and use pillows to stay off my back.  He's my general doctor.  I feel like I'm on my own with this.

Here's a picture with the soft cervical collar and a tennis ball.
 Greg

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Post Reply Post Reply
RE: Positional Apnea Problems
Sometimes it's not so much as sleeping on your back, but how you sleep.

You apparently are "chin tucking". This can be from a too tall bed pillow that tilts your head/neck forward and can occur in any position. Opt for a thinner pillow, one that supports your neck but doesn't tilt your head forward.

I would use the EPR setting at 3, as this should bring the Flow Limitation and Hypopnea down.

Try to stay on your side as much as possible, use a soft cervical collar and a flatter bed pillow. You'll have to experiment to see what works best for you.

Also, know that no amount of pressure increase will help with positional apnea.
OpalRose
Apnea Board Administrator
www.apneaboard.com

Soft Cervical Collar
Optimizing therapy
OSCAR supported machines
Mask Primer